You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi! I’m Glenn and I Hear Noises No One Else Can Hear

in #introduction8 years ago

Same affliction here - hearing in my left ear went OUT suddenly in 2008. Not out, but the same ringing and whooshing you describe, all pitches. Horrible. It's never quiet. And I feel like an old woman because I can't hear my children. I am always telling them to talk to me in my good ear (for now I still have one!) Hearing is a gift we take for granted until it's not there. How I wish I could get it back. I will be interested to see what you have discovered.

Sort:  

Everything I've discovered about Tinnitus focuses on habituation. At this point, there really is no reliable way to decrease the volume and there isn't a cure. But you can learn to habituate. Our brains are very good at filtering out meaningless background noise. The problem is that we can't tune out any sounds that imply danger and when Tinnitus is driving you crazy, you are reacting physically and emotionally as if you were in danger. It puts you in continuous state of fight or flight. So to get to the point where it stops bothering you, you have to defuse your negative reaction to the sound. I made a video to explain what worked for me. You can check it out here: http://www.rewiringtinnitus.com/tinnitus-habituation-strategies/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70