Just another newbie

in #introduction8 years ago

Hello everyone, my name is Jennifer. I am new to Steemit as of yesterday. Forgive my late intro, I just prefer to kind of get a feel for new platforms before I introduce myself. My 24 hours or so on here have been wonderful so far. I have really enjoyed reading people's stories and actually getting to engage in a little bit of conversation. I appreciate having this outlet to be able to have civil conversations with people. My main platform up until now has been Facebook but it has become so toxic in political divide I can hardly stand to look at it.

How I got here? Well, I guess it started a couple months ago when I stumbled across a YouTube video of Milo Yiannoupolos. Such a troll that one ;) I suppose it was his talks that really opened my eyes about how in danger free speech really is and is becoming. I was blown away at how college campuses react to dissenting opinions and how disrespectful some of the audience members can be. It then occurred to me, that not only is he being physically silenced in the room itself, but that these screamers and protesters have the backing of school administration, mainstream media, globalist funding, and legislation. How is it that we have so quickly become a society that is so threatened with differing opinions and what do we as a society look like in the future. Is this a relatively recent phenomenon or have I only recently began to give it some real thought? I'm not even sure myself all I know is that things are looking a little bleak right now. I have hope for a brighter tomorrow though. Thanks for reading and I can't wait interact with some new internet friends! Take care all! #NewToSteem

Sort:  

Welcome Jennifer!

I think one of the best parts about Steemit is that the most you can ever censor someone is flagging their post so it is just a tad less visible. I also love that the platform is open (there are no "friend" networks besides who you follow on your feed and there is no block button). I hope it stays that way too.

Thank you very much. I totally agree, I think it's best that there is no friends network. I've never really understood why anyone would want to get into social media war with people they work with but I've seen it. Facebook is a platform you really have to stay quiet on to not destroy relationships tsk tsk. I think I will be very happy here.

Yes, just 7 days old myself. Hope you come back to my blog. I am giving away some cryptocoin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54