The Illustriously Illuminating Introduction of ElucidationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

Howdy there, Steemit.


My name is James Bennett and I am a pulp writer. For almost a year now I have been following and participating in the PulpRev movement to bring back action, romance, wonder, and adventure to fiction while leaving political squabbles of all kinds at the door. With this post I want to help you understand where my fiction and essays soon to appear here will be coming from. I am a writer, editor, and game designer focusing on horror, weird fiction, and fantasy. Recently I helped bring forth the PulpRev Sampler Anthology in an attempt to reinvigorate the fields of fantasy, science fiction, and horror with forgotten but not yet lost techniques and styles from the pulp era.

I am a devotee of Robert E Howard, Clark Ashton Smith and Edgar Rice Burroughs. I believe in passionate, idiosyncratic, wild works of imagination pitting heroes and their companions against the kinds of opponents that really matter - the terror of Time, the inevitability of Death, the challenge of Honor, and the illumination of Mystery at the edge of understanding. 

Expect action, terror, and romance in the tales to come. I will also be posting essays and ruminations on applying pulp era techniques and approaches to contemporary work as I refine my workflow and offer out anything I encounter that I feel may be of help to others in refining their craft.

Please, check out the work we've done with the PulpRev Sampler - the stories in anthology are there because they all strike that spark of imagination and excitement that got us reading us reading in the first place, and I am pleased and humbled to help bring them out to the world.

P.S. With apologies to master Jack Vance on the title.

Sort:  

hey @jebennett welcome to steemit
hope so it'll be friendly here
lets coordinate and follow and upvote eachother ✌

Glad to see more PulpRev people over here. We're gonna do a lot on this site, I can already tell!

Welcome, welcome! May our fortunes rise together, and hopefully fall separately. d:

Glad to see someone who's also into horror. I think you and I will get along very well! Welcome to the site.

Nice intro Bennett. Steemit may portend to be the next PulpRev anthology with no submission deadlines. An exciting journey just begun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65