My Introduction - Entrepreneur, Aviation, Adventure - #introduceyourself

in #introduction7 years ago

Photo on 1-3-18 at 9.14 AM #5 #2.jpg

I'm wildly fascinated with cryptocurrencies, which is how I found SteemIt. One of my favorite parts is Elliptical Curve Mathematics... nerd alert. I love not going out to bars, not drinking, not partying, and going to bed unreasonably early. I have an unhealthy obsession with eating healthy and working out. I'm passionate about entrepreneurship and own a small lighting company that I started when I was 25, www.slaterlighting.com. I also flip real estate and trade the crypto markets both manually and via high frequency trade robots (contracted, I can't code). "Working" is one of my favorite things to do. I'm a private pilot, I like to surf, read, and I ride a scooter whenever possible. In the last few years I’ve realized that I really love any type of adventure. Recently that has been boating, fishing, free-diving, and probably something new that I’ll discover this week lol. I didn't grow up religious in anyway but after a lot of research, I believe Jesus is who he claims to be... walking on water, being God, and saving people #OGsurfer.

If you are on Steemit, there is a good chance you like Cryptocurrency and blockchain. I first heard about Bitcoin in 2015 and at the time the part that really struck me is that the supply of Bitcoin is limited to 21,000,000 coins. I fundamentally disagree with central banking and quantitive easing (money printing)... it's a ponzi scheme that is somehow "legal". I love that cryptography allows us to place trust in mathematics not trust in a 3rd party or corrupt central bankers. Anyway, after some research my investor side kicked in and I started to see Bitcoin as being very similar to real estate... except digital real estate. With the population exponentially expanding and real estate being a finite supply, it’s a sound long term store of value. I decided to buy some Bitcoin as a long-term investment and was lucky to buy in the $200 range. As the value of my investment grew, so did my curiosity.
In my business life, I have noticed that markets move towards efficiency. Bitcoin/crypto is a significantly more efficient way to store and transfer value and therefore I expect it to continue to be highly disruptive to the financial space in the coming years. My research lead me to my next investment, Ethereum. I bought Ether for a long term play at $11 and then some more at $50. I have of course been tempted to sell but my plan is to hold long term as I believe the cryptocurrency space is still in its infancy. Lastly, I decided to take a small amount of USD and try my hand at trading it manually as well as invest some into a high frequency trading robot. Both have been fun and overall successful but I still have a lot to learn. I will probably post on Steemit about Crypto most frequently and I also post some of my trading thoughts and/or strategies on Twitter @b_slater_

Aside from entrepreneurship, a word I can usually only spell with spell check, I love to fly! I got my private pilot's license last year and like cruising around Florida. I learned on a Cessna 172 and recently have been flying a Piper Cherokee Arrow. There is a sense of freedom I feel in flying that is hard to describe in words. More things seem possible in my life when I fly. I am in the process now of training for my IFR license. My goal is to explore as much of Florida and the islands as I can by both air and sea. Here is a picture of me getting ready to turn for final in a Cessna 172 in northern Florida...

Turning into Stuart 1.jpg

aviation.JPG

I'm really excited to be a part of the Steemit community. I like knowing that mostly everyone on here are early adopters for crypto and a peer to peer future. There are some really interesting and smart people on Steemit and I look forward to meeting more of you soon!

Here are some mainstream avenues to follow my nerdy ways...
Instagram @bslater_
Twitter @b_slater_
https://www.facebook.com/brian.slater.12532

unnamed (3).jpg

Sort:  

Haven't seen a pilot around here yet - I know @schamangerbert is doing many simulations ;)
Maybe you can do some videos from out of the air for @dtube?
Anyways, resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising newcomers!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Hey @heyslater!

Welcome to steemit! Glad to see that you found us, and if you are into crypto, then this is a great place to be. I hope that you enjoy checking out Florida by air and sea, that looks like some great stuff! I mostly just jump in the swamp and see what I can catch! Good to hear that you believe who Jesus is!

Very well crafted intro. I'm gonna look forward to see what you do next.

aaaand its getting more and more interesting every day ;) Welcome here!

I always wanted to learn how to fly! Was it hard at the beggining?

It's definitely a little awkward and uncomfortable at the start but you would be surprised how quickly it comes afterwords if you can just stick through the first couple of weeks. I think I did my first solo after about 12 hours of flight time. You should do it @duben !

Hey @heyslater i love ur adventurous ways. Welcome on board pilot. Welcome to steemit. Im followong you. Would love to have you read on my blog. You'll love it

Congratulations @heyslater! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! You have been followed!

Congratulations @heyslater, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

nice post .. Like it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63788.71
ETH 3393.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62