Introducing @gococonuts

in #introduction7 years ago

Hi fellow Steemians,

Currently it is 15:10 in the Netherlands and I am enjoying a lovely sunny day. After writing a couple of posts, commenting and upvoting some great content out here, I just thought to myself that this sunny day is a perfect time to introduce myself. Excuse me, ourselves I should say, because @gococonuts is set up by my girlfriend Suzanne and me called Mark.

DSC03299.JPG

Suzanne and I are together for a little over 3 years now, but we know each other for about 16 years already. Before we got together 3 years ago, we hadn't seen each other for over 12 years or so. When we were 16 years young we were coworkers at a local fashionstore in our hometown Almere. After some time I got a new job and we lost contact.

As life happened and years went by I saw her profile passing by on Linkedin. After seeing her profile picture I thought; she looks good! I wonder how she is doing. I could see on her profile that she moved to Germany and I asked myself why. I added her to Linkedin and were planning to message her after she accepted. She accepted, but I never messaged her...

Months later I jumped on my bike to go the barbershop and while I was locking my bike I saw a beautiful blond walking by. I looked away, but then I thought; don't I know this girl? While I turned around to double check she did the same and we recognized each other. We said hi and started talking about how long it must have been that we hadn't seen each other. She told me she was in town because of a jobinterview and she is planning to come back to the Netherlands and was just about to get an icecream with her parents. We decided that we needed to grab a drink the next time she was in town. I gave her my number and we said goodbye.

While I am waiting at the barbershop for my haircut I feld a complete idiot for not asking her number. What if she never calls?! Only after 10 minutes my phone vibrated and it was Suzanne texting. She said it was nice to see me again and that she was looking forward to our drink next time. Lucky me!!

A month later we would get together for that drink, but unfortunatelly I had to cancel because I had the flue. We planned another date for a couple of weeks later and we are together ever since.

The first period was kind of hard because she was still living in Germany on a 6 hour drive away from me, so we didn't had the chance to see each other as much as we wanted. After a couple of months she got her new job and moved to Zwolle, which is about 1 hour from Almere and 45 minutes from her new job. This made life easier for us and every other weekend we would be in Almere or Zwolle.

After about 1 year later she moved in with me, because we wanted to be together as much as possible and she also missed her hometown and her parents and sister, who also live here.

So, now you know how we have met. But who are we?

We are both 32 years old. Suzanne is a packaging engineer and I am a office manager. At least we are for 2 more months. After that we are fulltime world travellers!

Starting from August we are going to travel the world for at least a year. We both have a huge passion for exploring new countries, cultures and meeting new people and friends. We were fed up with doing this only for a couple of weeks a year after begging our bosses to get some time off. So we are quitting our jobs, selling our cars and renting our house and just go on a once in a lifetime journey.

During our travels we will keep you posted with all of the great things we see and do. We will start in Malaysia on the 28th of august so this will be our first worldtrip post.

We hope to contribute a lot to this wonderful community of Steemit. Also we know that we might be more fortunate than most people to go on a journey like this. By bringing some great content we will try to share the world with you through our eyes as if you are there.

If you want to follow us on our journey and be a part of it, we would love for you to follow us.

Much love,

Mark and Suzanne a.k.a. Gococonuts

Sort:  

Welcome, welcome @gococonuts Enjoy the community, have fun!

Thanks @itsmein3d
Started following you :)

Welcome on board from south of you :)

Great introduction post! Steem Full Ahead!

Thanks @survivebubble. We sure will!

Welcome to Steemit!
I'm looking forward to your posts, especially from Malaysia, that will be so exciting.
All the best, SteemOn!
Followed/ UpVoted

@the-scuba-sherpa
Thanks! Follow back :)

Welcome to steemit! I u will love it here! Uovoted and hote you follow me too!

Thank you! I am sure we will. Followed you too :)

Great story! I'm glad you finally met after all these years. Goog luck to you both!
Followed you.

Thank you, Erika. Have a nice day :)

Hi @gococonuts, and great intro. I think it's awesome that you are going to travel the world. Looking forward to hear more about your adventures.
Upvoted and followed :)

Thank you, much appreciated. Enjoy your sunny day ;)

Welcome to Steemit !

@magicalwolf
Thank you! I just started following you and see you're from Belgium. Almost neighbours ;)
I started following you. Follow back is appreciated :)

Yes, indeed, not very far away. I went in Netherlands several times when i was young, very great country. Hehe, thank you, i followed you too. i can't wait to see your next post, i loved your story.

Welcome to Steemit, @gococonuts! I've followed you and look forward to more posts :).

Thank you @chem1cal! Followed you too and will make sure to post much more :)

Hello Mark, welcome to the platform. Its nice to have you here in the community.

Hi @juvyjabian! Thank you! I see you are from the Phillipines :) We are planning to go there during our journey. If you have any great tips, please let us know.
Started following you. Follow back is appreciated :)

Great. There are lots of places to visit in the Philippines. If you're fun with beaches, you can find good beaches around the country. Start in Palawan.

Followed you too.

Thanks for the tips! Palawan is on the list next to the boat trip to El Nido and Coron :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83