An Introduction Post and Rant on Censorship and US 2016 Elections

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Hello, I'm a new Steemit user and I'm here because I'm interested in a place where free speech and truth can exist. The possibility of a new social media site without the fear of censorship of controversial opinions is very appealing. After all the censorship on major social media sites, I've grown tired of them and and felt discouraged that it seemed like information would be increasingly censored in an Orwellian fashion. The DNC leaks, the Democratic Convention walk out, the protests at the Democratic Convention, the blatant voter suppression in the primaries, etc. All of these things never got any notice on Twitter or Facebook and I noticed that certain hashtags were pulled from trending on Twitter suspiciously quickly.

I've tried keeping an open mind and retaining my skepticism as to if it's truly censorship, but it's really hard when you know that Hillary Clinton has paid at least a million dollars to a super PAC called Correct the Record that's supposed to go out there and "fix misinformation" and you know that both Twitter and Facebook are big companies like the ones that donate to her campaign through super PACs and lobbyists. As such, until proven otherwise, I'm inclined to think that Facebook and Twitter (at the very least) are censoring such topics.

My hope is that Steemit will grow to become a more popular social media site and censorship can be avoided, even if only here. I will be watching this social media site and participating by upvoting. If people would like to hear more about my perspective on the Presidential Election debacle occuring in the US, please leave a comment and let me know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55