Introduction to FixedByDoc's Wife (also known as Addie)

in #introduction7 years ago

Hello, this is an introduction to Addie, Doc’s wife. We figured it would be useful to introduce me before I really author anything for his page. For starters, I tend over-think, over-explain, or just wander off on tangents, so you’ll probably be able to tell when I’ve written something instead of Doc!

(me at 7th grade, some of my creative work, me hiding in a tree for a haunted bog walk, and the dog I grew up with)
7nth grade.jpg

Image (19).jpg

Image (31).jpg

Me in Tree for Haunted Bog Walk (1).jpg

Ciny licks lips.JPG

I grew up in northern Wisconsin, and went to college (twice) in Marquette, MI, at Northern Michigan University (GO WILDCATS!!!), and that’s where my soul really lives. I do well in the cold, and melt in the heat so it was a great area. But the cold made Doc miserable, so we tried to find a place which wasn’t so sharply cold for him in the winter and wouldn’t make me turn into a crabby overheated puddle on the floor in summer. Pennsylvania is the compromise location, although I still complain about the head from late April to late September, and I think Doc wears shorts about oh... twice a year? He still says it’ cold until about July and starts back up around August. And hey, if you’re stacking, chopping, and otherwise processing your own firewood, Pennsylvania winters are a lot less work than winter in the UP or northern Wisconsin would be.

(Me at Trail Day s 2017, note the name tag, me on the drive home with the dogs, me in my ears on vacation, where I spent my New Years Eve in 2001-2002)

DSCF5494.JPG

DSCF5822.JPG

me looking back from dock.JPG

Outward Bound solo tarp tent.jpg

I’m a jogger, and I like distances. I ran a marathon-ish last year, although it was only one of those virtual ones where you sign up online, tell them how far you ran, and yeah everyone gets a t-shirt. I had missed the cut-off date for the marathon I’d intended to do, so I ended up running an approximate 26.2 miles (actually about 27.2 when I really measured) by running a loop along the roads to town and back. Doc was super awesome, and trailed me after the first 10 or so miles as support, leapfrogging along ahead of me. That one took me about 5 ½ hours, if I remember correctly. This year I managed to remember to register on time, and got into the marathon I wanted to run. It was one that raises money to help veterans in that county, so that was like icing on the cake, that the registration money goes to a good cause. It was a really fun run, held early November, and hey, now I think of it, maybe my jogging hobby should be an entirely different blog!

(a small shore bird informally known as a PEEEEEEEP!!!! they're known for not holding still when you have your binoculars out or for turning away at just the right/wrong moment when you have a camera...)

PEEEEEP.JPG

I’m an Aquarius, which I’ve been told is an ‘air’ symbol (go figure!), but I’m definitely more aquatic than arboreal (although I do like climbing trees at low levels). Maybe a quick rundown of what I like, dislike, and stuff like that will be a better introduction.

I don’t like:
Horror movies (especially ones like SAW where as far as I can tell, the point is to be entertained by people in psychological distress and serious physical pain-that’s just MESSED up), most things that are peanut-butter flavored, a lot of popular music (I’m so sick of “I’m sorry I cheated” or “I’m so shallow I’m in love with your body shape” or “I can change” or “I dislike your current boyfriend, you should date me” –what an attractive attitude– or even “I love you” unless they get seriously creative and fun), any politician in general (I was kind of liking the “Giant Meteor—just end it all 2016 bumper stickers), people who call sweet potatoes ‘yams’, people who get a pet and then blame it for poor behavior when it’s the human’s fault... hmm. Oh yah, I don’t like sunburn, or honestly, to be in pictures. Ticks. Mosquitoes. Fleas (although I hate killing these guys... it’s not like they really have much choice in what they do). Thin crust pizza, most ‘flakey’ pastries annoy me.

(My cat Gnarley a.k.a. Gnarles Vomer Darwin (no, not Charles...) graciously showing us some holiday cheer and not killing me, Rud, a dog at the animal shelter I used to work at who was one of the many sweeties I met)

P5160303.JPG

PB270149.JPG

I like: Just about anything ‘nature’ or ‘animal’ or ‘plant’ is at least interesting. I like dogs, cats, horses, fish, ferrets, birds and bird watching, identifying birds, plants, and stuff like that. Jogging, painting, drawing, writing, chopping wood, reading/listening to books, Terry Pratchett, Anne McCaffrey, Piers Anthony, Dick Francis, the Mrs. Pollifax series, I liked playing World of Warcraft when our internet could support it. Ice cream. Cheese... dairy products in general (I’m a Wisconsin gal, remember... I’m pretty sure if they do blood samples, they get ice cream or cheese). Thick crust pizza, brownies, fruit, cauliflower, salad, vegetables... hurdles, long jump, soccer, broom ball (ok, this is an exception to the pattern, as I really don’t like any game I have to hit, throw, or otherwise be accurate with eye-hand co-ordination, but broom ball as played at near-Kamikaze enthusiasm in college was a blast), catching frisbees, Cranium, Imaginiff, Trivial Pursuits, Malarkey, Girl Scouting, animal shelters (not the need for so many, but the fact they’re there to help), libraries, well run zoos, Zootopia, the Croods, Clue, Home, Lilu and Stitch, Shrek, Guardians of the Galaxy, both Parent Traps, My Little Ponies (generation 1 and the latest, which is either G3 or G4 depending on how you look at it), hiking, camping, sleeping (I need about 8 ½ -9 hours of actual sleep, I’m one of the ‘other side of the pendulum’ people which average out those who try to or can make do on less and anyway, most of them are running on coffee anyway..which messes with me). I like garlic. I LOVE MY FAMILY.

(Me playing BROOOOOOOOM BALLLL!!! fun stuff! and something I saw in a zoo...)
Spooner Broomball.JPG

What is THat Craz bird.JPG

This is getting rather long, so I guess you’ll have to get a handle on me as we go, thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

She's ALOT better looking than you are Doc . @OriginalWorks

Hell , everyone is better looking then Doc . @OriginalWorks

but you all haven't seen me in a bikini yet!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fixedbydoc to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

duh she is a sexy blonde! have you seen her bikini videos yet? im a lucky man :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fixedbydoc to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

That was pretty darn nice, top to bottom and your pets, a good life. I am like neg - low on vote power but heck an UV for yah!

thanks... i am really low on voting power myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75