All Men Must Die, so become a stoic!

in #introduction7 years ago

“No man was ever wise by chance”
-Seneca

joe-zeno1.png

Last year I made a resolution: to become a more spiritual being. I didn't know what this meant when I made the resolution. I routinely went to church growing up, but life had taken me on a different path. I knew becoming a more spiritual being didn't mean diving back into the religion I was prescribed as a kid. After perusing search engine results and Amazon top sellers, I eventually landed on "The Daily Stoic" by Ryan Holiday.

This book was exactly what I needed: quick and easy daily reading. Work, grad school and a pregnant wife left little time for me to reach the level of spirituality my over-ambitious nature planned for the year ahead. However, the book allowed me to dive into pearls of wisdom from great minds of the past on most days. Over the course of the year, I discovered stoicism resonated with me; countless days I remarked at the advice of Marcus Aurelius, Seneca or Epictetus being perfect for the frustrating day I'd just experienced.

Now with a freshly minted bambino and school wrapping up, I've set new goals: be of service to others, meditate and write on what I read, and strive to be a better father, husband, neighbor and stranger. I'd love for you all to join me on this journey!

-facelessman

Sort:  

Look forward to more of your posts. I also very much enjoy the Stoic philosophy. Practicing or at least adhering to the main tenets of Stoicism is definitely a great way to stay "balanced" in your daily life.

Congratulations @facelessman, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

I must say i have never heard of the "The Daily Stoic". Some similarities we share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 59522.29
ETH 2588.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45