Been accepted and learning steemit for 4 days and my impressions and Q' about how steem works

in #introduction6 years ago

I need you all to read this and help me out even though it is longer than i planned. My layman's understanding is steemit/steem has the base potential to cover social media, quests for knowledge and discussion, serve as a consolidation for all the best blogs you like to cover, and replace twitter.

Comments with enlightening info may help others embrace the platform. I am away from home right now and this is not the real introduction I have envisioned, but I am still seeking what this steemit is about. My real intro will come later and include my future desires and current interests and expertise. In the near term, I can see why bloggers, copy posters, and people keeping it real can get from this: more cash value. As far as a user looking for quality content and an efficient way to read it, I am at a loss. TBH I dont use facebook regularly, so steemit does not have to improve much for me to love it, except that facebook is the only way I see anything about friends and family i dont talk to regularly.

I DO use Quora every day and, so far, I find interesting quality content and requests for answers in my areas of knowledge too appealing to ignore. Will steem may have the capacity to or ability to compete with Quora, who in steemit consolidates questions and hides crap answers, and flags answers that need strengthened? Is that possible? Quality control is one of my big concerns with steem as even looking a trending or hot posts within my area on interests are a crapshoot as far as quality. Any new users that are not already blog or vlog followers following someone over probably has the same challenges, which could easily limit growth.

Besides collecting a lot of followers and like clicks, I am having a hard time comparing the quality or interest of the post to the value of steem power that is generated. I see copied material, ramblings, and stuff posted that is far from extraordinary getting likes, stream power, and positive comments. I only see positive comments so far for some reason.

My longer term goals on steemit are to blog, do how too videos, and hold discussions about my interests, so I am in no way coming into this with a naysayers attitude, I just need some encouragement and for some people who understand it better to share the vision with me and all the newcomers trying to make this a viable platform. This is your chance to get us hooked! Hopefully I will put together a real intro soon and post about topics I love- Sincerely Eric Raitanen

PS, negative comments or downvotes towards this post are perfectly acceptable, but please realize that I am new and there are many likely newcomers that need a better understanding on how this can be good for them besides gaining .001 steam power for 1 out every 10 things we assign a like to. Minnows, please like this if you want some good comments and guidance from the veteran steemians! Thank youme jan 2018.jpg

camera: moto g5 plus taken Jan 27, 2018 taken by me- Why can all picture give some indication if the poster took or has permission to use the picture?

Sort:  

Welcome on steemit. I am not good in English. So, my comments are short. hope your success in this platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95