Who is : Eliyahu Ben YHWH - my introduction

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello and thank you for taking the time to read my introductory post;

My name is Eliyahu or just Ely for short will be fine, I am a healthy 62 year old Country Gentleman. I live alone on a 19 acre Farmstead with a large shop in SE Oklahoma. I have been a techno-geek most of my life and can remember my first Commodore 64 like it was yesterday. We have come a very long way in such a short amount of time.

I was a "Control Operator" on a Crude Distillation unit in Kenai Alaska when they used the old Pneumatic (air operated) instruments and controls. I was there for the change from the old pneumatics to what was known as "I to P" which was an electronic signal that was changed to pneumatic or vise versa. During this time we had to go to school and learn all about the new state of the art Foxboro Video Spec IV control console we were to start using instead of the old dials and gauges on a long wall.

From the experience at work in computers, I brought it home in some of the very first PCs. The kids love it and as a member of PC Magazine we could type in simple games. I had a Machine Language compiler with sum checker for each line and the kids would sit there for hours taking turns copying in those numbers to play a new game. Later they were way ahead of the rest of their classes in email and such, using the home encyclopedia and so much more. I remember once when my Son just printed an article from that encyclopedia and turned it in. He got an “A+”. He was so proud, but I knew what he did and informed his Teacher and she left the A+ saying it took great skill to print out that article. LOL

So in 1990 there was a car accident. My Wife and youngest Son were both lost in it, but my older Son and his two older Sisters survived and from that day on I became a single Parent. Well they all survived as that is no life for young Children, as me always working a rotating shift left the home alone a lot. But not until the oldest Daughter turned 14 which was the age at which they could legally be left alone overnight. They are all grown now and I am alone with Steemit, retired and enjoying the peace and solitude.

My Computer experience never ceased as I went on to run a Power Generation Facility and a micro circuit / flexible ribbon production facility. I became what is known as a 1st Class A Chief Engineer of Unlimited Horsepower in Boilers, Steam Turbines and Generators. I guess the “steem” kind of stuck :)

So I have been building my own PCs for years, with in the last few years gave up on windows and ended up with Slackware Linux after trying almost every other distribution. I can do some web master as well as some hardware configuration. My connection is cellular as cable and DSL are not available in my area.

I like to work on my old trucks and some antique cars, I especially like the Dodge Cummins 2nd Generation Diesel Trucks. I have a small fruit orchard I am trying to get going, some grape vines as well as a few assorted pecan trees and assorted perennial vegetables. I am trying to establish a food forest permaculture for hard times if they should ever come my way.

Then in my spare time, I like to visit and share on social media like steam. I kept hearing about steem and was not too thrilled about Cryptocurrencies as they were not backed. But I bit the bullet and started off with just a little to see how it goes. I am learning a lot from you all as well as from Youtube and other internet resources. Knowledge has definitely increased as you can learn how to do almost anything from youtube :)

I am a skilled researcher and my writing skills aren't too shabby either. I have a lot of technical abilities and I am always willing to help. I have been around for a very long time in the computer industry as well as internet activity so can share some resources that I have gleaned over the years. I am at your service...

I hope you like this intro and I hope to make lots of new Friends as we share and help each other earn a little extra. So please boost me when you can and I will do my very best to return the favor. 

Please follow me here: @eliyahu

Sincerely,

Eliyahu Ben YHWH

(Ely)


Sort:  

Nice read. Welcome to Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit. If you really get bit by the Steemit bug, you will quickly forsake the other social media sites. I was very active on several and now never even bother. This is home. Welcome aboard :) I followed you :)

Yep, I can see the same happening with me as well :)

Nice to meet you @eliyahu. Very diverse set of experiences and interests you have!

@coalrollin Yes it has been quite a ride :)

Sorry to hear about your wife and child.

Thank you Sir for the kind thoughts @bangomad

Sad about the wife and kid but a good story. Good Luck to you on Steemit!

Yes well thanks and I know you mean well, but a "story" is often a made up fictional tale. What I wrote was true life... no offense taken... no harm done...

If it's true, I'm interested!

Well yes it is all true. I have no reason to lie and you will learn that I am a very responsible and respectful person, honest and trustworthy to a fault.

yes of course!

Congratulations @eliyahu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit, Eli. Here is something especially for you, from mount Carmel:

image

Not sure what you are trying to say by such action as the image presented is neither Peaceful or Friendly. But if it's a Fight you seek, then "I'm Your Huckleberry"...

But if it is just a link to Truth2U Radio then OK so I get it.
No offense intended, no harm done...

No harm intended. It's just the famous statue of the prophet you are named after.

:) I see now thank you Sir and thank you Sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40