Hi I'm Tim Timmons!Here I am in the Applied Foreign Languages Dept. at Delin University of Iechnology.

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

This the second time around for my @delin.english self introduction. My first one was about getting all of my students at the uni I teach at involved in steemit by having them create steemit accounts and submitting homework here. It thought it was a great idea as the students could learn about crypto and make money while learning. However, the admins at my uni put the kibosh on that, so I'm starting again.

Here is a picture of me when I was a student at the San Francisco Art Institute.

sfai.jpg

Hi everyone! I'm Tim Timmons. I'm from California in the U.S. and I currently live in Taiwan. I teach English as a Foreign Language at Delin University of Technology. I have been teaching in Asia for seventeen years. Six of those years were in China.

S_7057751053017.jpg

Teaching English abroad had been a dream of mine while in college and once I got the chance, I never quit. It was one of those situations where you plan to do something for a short time and then you end up doing it forever. A lot of English teachers working abroad end up in this cycle.

My interests over the years have been, painting, reading, writing, playing in punk bands, photography, film making and a couple of other things.

My interests now are hiking, writing, crypto, language study, and a couple other things. I am fluent in Mandarin as it is the national language of Taiwan. It's not a scary language to learn. It's quite simple, the grammar is ridiculously easy and there aren't a whole lot of words. With Mandarin, words are recycled many times resulting in a lot of compound words.

My interests in crypto range from hodling a few valuable, and a few potentially valuable coins/tokens to participating in ICOs to steemit, which is great because you can make crypto by posting and supporting the steemit ecosystem in a lot of ways.

To focus on my career a bit. Teaching English can be a joyous, delightful experience, and it also can be an horrific experience. It depends on the school, students, your own teaching methods, learners' attitudes, etc. Sometimes just the right amount of great students can make teaching a given class a great experience, and then sometimes the opposite can happen.

Here is a picture of me teaching.

teaching.jpg

Here is a picture of me that one of my students doctored.

fb pic.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steem Community @delin.english! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to steemit. @delin.english
following you now. :D

Hi and welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and good luck :)

Thanks so much. It will be fun figuring out what I want to do here. Maybe post about real life in Taiwan.

Yes that will be very interesting as I didnt real much about Taiwan here :)

@delin.english,

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curator team!

If chosen, your post may be featured in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.

An image from your post may be featured.

Great introduction post, sorry to hear your other idea didn't work out!

Please reply, and I will nominate your post to the @Muxxybot Curator team so can possibly get some extra views and rewards on your post!

That would be great! Please go ahead and nominate my post :)

Hello. Love your story. My goodness, as handsome as you were while in college, I am surprised you did not go into modeling or acting. But I am sure your students are glad you went into teaching. The classroom is very nice. I am glad you enjoy it.

LOL, I'm not really as ugly as I look in the top photo (was incredibly tired when it was taken) nor was I as handsome in college as that photo would lead you to believe. The camera lies.

Welcome back @delin.english.

Great post, btw.

So glad that last pic was doctored...had me wondering for a sec...(lol)

Peace.

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-42

Thanks so much!

Congratulations @delin.english! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19