New to Steemit - Why I left Silicon Valley and moved to an island, Part 1

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, it's great to finally be on Steemit.

About 6 years ago I was living and working at a high tech in Silicon Valley. For many years it was fantastic. Made a lot of money, had a ton of perks at work, and lots of friends I had grown up with.

A normal day would be 8-5, nothing too strenuous. Weekends were always filled with trips to Napa Valley or San Francisco. And of course, big fat tasty sushi dinners.

I lived in a country club, with a lot of pretty prominent CEO's at the time. Cruising down Country Club Dr. at 7.30am, it was not at all unusual to see a yellow Viper, Aston Martin, Bentley, Humvee, etc.

However, something in me started to change. I was craving substance. I didn't want to fly to Phoenix or Vegas for the weekends anymore. I didn't want to go to the latest dinner party and talk about who was divorcing whom, or what big deal someone was about to close. Even worse, listening the the excruciating details of how much their new home entertainment system cost...

All this talk became so boring and superficial to me. I began feeling as though I was suffocating in plastic from the time I got up until the time I went to bed.

After a few years of trying to rationalize all this phoney, empty, excessively materialistic lifestyle, I decided I didn't want it anymore.

A member of my family had relocated to an island in Europe. I told her I wanted out of the craziness. She told me to come and take some time, figure things out. It was very difficult to stop my logical brain from walking away from money and opportunities, but I felt like I was simply existing in a dark tomb. I was not living, I was not thriving.

So, I did. And it was scary. And it was fun. And sometimes it's really hard because now I am not making nearly the money I used to, and barely getting by - I do this by trying to freelance jobs, and it's tough. But, I wouldn't trade it for the world and I have zero regrets. My days are now filled with so much more joy and peace, and real people.

I believe that your physical surroundings and friends and loved ones have the greatest impact of all.

This is my first post, and I hope you like it! If you have questions, leave them in the post and I will address them in Part 2.

Thank you for reading!
M
Ps. This image is what I see every day when I wake up.

DSC_0708.jpg

Sort:  

This is a super interesting story! Welcome to Steemit, and good for you for following your dreams!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56