My HUGE missed opportunity with ETH. My introduction to Steem.

in #introduction7 years ago


Palm Beach Research Group got me started into crypto investing in January 2017. It was the only newsletter I knew of touting cryptocurrencies way back in early 2016. They were banging on the table to get into ETH with plenty of compelling reasons why, in January. This was when Ethereum was under $8, and I was resolute and committed to sinking $8k for 1000 ETH and $3k into BTC both for the long game buy and hold.

Not being technical, the hoops I had to jump through executing my first trade into BTC-ETC made me confused and procrastinate, despite being completely convinced I was "all in". My wife, had to help me through all the computer stuff, I was afraid I'd make a mistake moving sums of money around to virtual addresses. She gave me free reign for investments, but was skeptical of this "digital money". She wasn't sold, so sitting down together with her to educate her, facilitate those virgin territories and fund accounts with limits on deposits was inconsistent, slow and frustrating.

ETH had a buy up to price of $20, and after it surpassed that, I thought it might be too expensive. I didn't bite, I wanted a large lot of shares, and I was sure it would come down. All of a sudden, its $37.

"Son of a bitch!!'

Then the buy up to price was raised to $40. Then the next week, its surpassing $50.

Dammit!

I'm thinking its too late to get in, but then it goes back to the $34 range, and yes, I'm pulling the trigger for sure...... but after I get back from vacation. I went surfing in Mexico for 10 days with very limited internet. I checked it one day down there, and ETH was over $91!

Fuck! What!!??

How is this possible I didn't get in? I'm cussing myself and ETH for the FOMO as I continued the frustrating struggle getting enough money into wallets and exchanges, etc.. I watched helplessly as it shot to the moon. All I needed was to click BUY, like I'd done with so many times with stock trades, and I would've made just shy of $400,000.00 in 6 months time with an asymmetric $8k trade.

(I still don't own ETH, just ETC . But, more importantly, Antshares - the Chinese ETH I'm very stoked on! Read up on the them.

The difficulty of funding and facilitating all these different accounts and passwords takes persistence. Getting beyond this awkward new mindset and frustrating learning curve, not easy. But its all these hoops that keeps the mainstream masses out for now, suppressing this market and further price action. This hype cycle is addictive though. There's a wall of money just waiting to flood into this new asset class.
Hard not to feel bitter sometimes about my missed ETH opportunity, but I think its good that it's not so easy to jump in quick, being held back from an easy streamlined channel. Coinbase is opening over 100,000 new accounts weekly. Institutional money is clamoring. I can't wait to become more established in my positions so I can continue to ride this wave....Its better than those waves in Mex.

By the way, this is my first post introduction to Steemit. My name is Craig. Bought some SteemPower. I'm vested into this awesome community and I'm very excited to be here, it's good a vibe. Hoping to connect with a lot of you.

Sort:  

I can relate to you so much. I first discovered ETH at $8 but had no idea how it all worked so never invested. As it jumped I thought it would tank back. Never did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49