Hi Steemit! I'm Coco - a queer farmer // conservationist // amateur lepidopterist

in #introduction7 years ago

snaps.jpg

Hey Yall
I'm Coco, a whimsical womyn bent on community building, simple living, and healthy soil biology. I own and operate an organic flower farm in Portland, Oregon. My business partner, Lindsay, and I started the farm 3 years ago. It's been a wild ride full of tears, laughter, permadirt under my nails and an ever deepening love of flowers.

duh.jpg

some good ol' fashioned bullet points about yours truly

  • head in the clouds // feet in the soil
  • let there be laughter !
  • i make important decisions over cups of tea
  • garden nerd
  • let's talk about intersectional feminism
  • and check our privilege
  • build each other up
  • remember to just BREATHE ; we are enough

ok.jpg

Looking forward to getting to know the Steemit Community !

Sort:  

lovely farmer! welcome!

So psyched you're on Steemit! I love love love flowers! I tried starting a medicinal herb farm here in Colorado a couple years ago but my lease of the property fell through right after I seeded... Such a bummer. Your farm looks heavenly! Hoping I can get my little suburban lot looking beautiful and then find the land to try again (:
Glad to be following you!

Thank you for the encouragement! It's really inspiring to see fellow plant nerds on Steemit. Sorry to hear about your lease mishap. We got really lucky and found a great spot through ifarm. It's a rad matchmaking service between landowners and farmers in need of a land! Then we graduated off to a farm incubator program called Headwaters. It's supported by the county's soil and water conservation district. Perhaps there is something similar in Colorado?

Anyway, I'm happy to be following you too!!! Cheers <3

Wow that's great advice! I'll have to check them both out.
(:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56