Jake's Daily Thoughts: An Introduction

in #introduction6 years ago

Introduction

Hello, my name is Jake Bryan and I am a writer, developer, entrepreneur, traveler, and cryptocurrency enthusiast! I currently reside in Huntsville, AL, but I will start traveling again in July for 4-5 months. I focus on continual self-development with The Avatar Course tools. I read and listen to many self-help books from money creation to lifestyle management.

My current all-encompassing interest is EOS. I write articles for EOS Tribe, a Block Producer candidate (BPC), and help by other means. I have some announcements in the coming week or two about specific business offerings. Stay tuned into my blog to hear more.

My Daily Thoughts

Jake's Daily Thoughts is a new series I made so the community can stay informed of my progress and hopefully learn from my mistakes and success. I will write about the books I am reading, the work I am doing, and my health journey.

For the most part, I listen to self-development, sci-fi, and fantasy series. My favorite books are the Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan. My main business will be announced in the coming week or two but it is related to EOS and will be associated with @eostribe.

I have struggled with my health for the last year. Most of my issues have started to pop up after juice fasting and losing weight. While juice fasting is great for losing weight and feeling better for others. I cannot do it anymore. I am on a ketogenic diet. I tried going full vegan, but due to a candida infection and other health problems that arose, I could not continue. Mood swings and vertigo are not good trades offs for being moral when it comes to a diet.

I love to exercise as well and will share some tips every once in a while. I usually go to the YMCA and enjoy racquetball, basketball, lifting weights, and jogging.

TribeSteemUp

I am a member of @TribeSteemUp which is a community empowerment and promotion tool for Anarcho-Capitalist. We are working on community exposure with bi-weekly questions. The current question is "What is Community Empowerment, why is it so important, and how can we find ways to achieve it?"

Community empowerment is about coming together with folks of similar interests and building each other up with the intention that we all succeed. Community empowerment is important because it gives those who are successful a chance to help those who are struggling. In doing so we build up a more prosperous, enlightened, and compassionate community. We can find ways to achieve it by promoting those in our community and showing them to our following. Another way is to include the community in the conversation and work together.

TribeSteemUp is run by @kennyskitchen and he has done a great job for the most part. I feel that he can improve especially when it comes to listening to others' input and asking for it before big changes are made. No community is perfect but a part of leading is listening to those you work with. Asking for input and including those who helped build up the tribe in decisions is important for retaining cohesiveness.

Making sweeping changes without trying to reach out to those who it will affect the most can lead to hurt feelings and disgruntlement. I am disgruntled due to some of the changes and I am not afraid of talking about them. My main concern is the arbitrary nature of changes without consulting with the community. In particular, the number of upvotes per day was increased to two with a lesser vote power behind it. I would much prefer one upvote with a higher vote power behind it.

Nothing in life is perfect. Humans have differing wants. I appreciate Kenny and his hard work, but constructive criticism should always be taken as an opportunity to learn or understand. Large communities will always have subtle issues, but our ability to handle issues will define a community. I trust that we can handle our issues effectively and with compassion. I can't wait to hear Kenny's comments and other members of the Tribe chime in the comments below.

TribeSteemUp Proposals

The use of our Discord channel will be the main mechanism for solving issues. I see communication as the problem so we will solve it with better communication! Creating a channel to go over upcoming changes and for users to make proposals is my solution to my described communication problem.

I will call the channel #tribesteemupcircle and users who propose changes write an article giving proper reasons, envisioned changes, and how it will affect the Tribe. If anyone is strongly against it or has other ideas then a moderated video call will be hosted for consensus building and compassionate listening.

My process is a good start but if you have any suggestions then please discuss them in the comments. I can host a Zoom video call if further discussion is wanted.

I love the TribeSteemUp community and I am glad Kenny has included me. We will grow a happier, more enlightened, and compassionate world together. Onward and upwards!


CompanyLogo

Written with Love by Jake Bryan
You can support Jake by upvoting or donating Crypto
BCH: 1PFKomF5sPrdVi95iYK8743jDCjLHUStog
DASH: Xf1eoSHWYhW86v4TkidS19STP3WHoWkCkB
LTC: MEdKZwGHi4SUdy9uiBJ4EwxJCYcuPoBnuj
ETH: 0x62fFEB0863f8F1EC6d6739e8a3d2D094A5777F8c
BTC: 34YHwe8k7iyxHz1XeXqh3zKNz8AKMpmt1s

Sort:  

really nice to get to know you better @bryanj4, really happy to be part of the Tribe with you. I like the idea of the tribesteemupcircle channel, it is important to create more ways to improve communication and to facilitate change.
I have been reading the wheel of time, waiting for book 6 to come my way, started reading them during my pregnancy with my youngest, wow did I get sucked in.

I love to listen to the series while I fall asleep. I may not keep up with what's going on that way but I've listened to the series 4-5 times.

I will suggest my changes in the weekly call this Sunday. Can't wait to meet y'all on the call. Will you be there?

no it's 2a.m where I am so I miss out, but I'm sure it'll happen in the future, look forward to seeing the recording though.

Yes, it will happen again and we should pick a time friendlier to those in Europe. Which country are you in now? I'll be in Spain in July.

I'm in Spain now, but go to Ireland for most of June and all of July to be with my sister, she's going through a lot so I need to be near her, where in Spain are you going

I'm going to Bilbao, Madrid, and the mountains for some hiking. My favorite city is Seville and my second favorite is Granada. Can't wait to go through that country with a car. So many great views outside of the cities!

I'm south of Granada at the moment, it is very beautiful around here in the Alpujarras, such beautiful villages up in the mountains, have a great time x

You need to go hike in Monachil if you go back through Granada!!! Lovely town. There are some pretty cool hippie beach enclaves in the southern region of Granada/Almeria.

Loved the site you created for TSU!

``We will grow a happier, more enlightened, and compassionate world together.'' Seconded.

``I would much prefer one upvote with a higher vote power behind it.'' Suggested the same; also like the changes channel proposal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40