Introducing Myself, a Social Activist, and a Steemit nOOb.

Liberal.
Writer.
Musician.
Cryptocurrency Obsessor.
Software Developer.
Social Activist.

That about sums it up. My name is Shaun, and everything above is a snapshot of me.

Politically, yes, I am a liberal, although I prefer the term "Recovering Republican." :) I often try not to engage in political back-and-forths whenever possible; I mostly just use the phrase "I care about all people" when confronted with how I stand on any particular issue. My wife and I are heavily involved in the Pride movement as staunch allies of the LGBTQ+ community, and human equality is our most important issue, as I believe almost all other issues, in some way, fall under that umbrella. To serve all of humanity is to serve ourselves.

16865097_10211777346570941_8051645598830873433_n.jpg

I'm also a writer, been writing as long as I've been able to hold a pen. I've been working on a novel for the better part of 25 years (I'm sure I'll finish it someday...right?)

I'm also a musician, chiefly a guitarist, but also dabble in piano and drums. I've been in my share of failed heavy metal bands, and now pretty much just stick to the one-man-band motif made possible by the ability to turn a single laptop into a complete recording and production studio. And of course, it gives me total control without having to deal with other "diva" musicians. :)

I'm a cryptocurrency obsessor. I only got into the space about 6 months ago, but have managed to dump a bunch of money into a number of different coins. And if anybody's curious, I'm very big on........Stellar Lumens.

stellar.png

That being said, I'm always looking for new cryptocurrency projects designed to put as much of humanity as possible on a level playing field, no matter a person's worth or lack thereof. There are so many amazing uses of cryptocurrency and blockchain technology possible that I believe we haven't even begun to scratch the surface.

I am a software developer by trade, working at a non-profit that helps the catastrophically injured and disabled in ways that many other organizations are unwilling. While writing business applications in .NET is not the most exciting thing in the world, the company I work for does so many wonderful things for so many people, it's hard to ever complain. By night, I'm learning and exploring ways that I can use blockchain technology to bring change to a world that so often needs it.

I am a social activist. As mentioned before I am a huge ally of the LGBTQ+ community, but am also heavily invested in gender and racial equality. It's often hard to wake up in the morning and have the morning news tell you about all of the terrible things that happened overnight and just how divided the world is right now. Every day, people all over the world struggle with marginalization in horrific ways, and it's my mission to do everything in my power to know that I'm fighting for them. It's a lifelong and thankless pursuit, but the pursuit is necessary.

equality.jpg

So, that's me. And albeit it in a relatively long-winded way. I could go on and on and on, but I don't want to write an autobiography that would bore the masses. So, long story short, I'm glad to be a part of the Steem community, and I look forward to talking and engaging with all of you!

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Download the Partiko app below to start earning Partiko points which can be converted into Steem.

Start here - https://partiko.app/referral/jmehta

Congratulations @astrangershadow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67