Introduction - Antje Cobbett

in #introduction7 years ago

Hi, my name is Antje Cobbett, I'm German, married to an English man and we live in Andalucia/Spain in a modernized cave house which is totally brilliant! I will write about it soon. Here's the front view of the cave, the rest is underground:

our modernized cave house.jpg

I started writing in 2001 with 7 articles in Country Smallholding Magazine in the UK. They loved the first article I wrote about my angora rabbits and asked for 6 more and since I was paid for the articles and the photos I found out much later that I can call myself a "published author" and it made me feel great!

Next time I could make money writing articles was already online. The first article I wrote on Mahalo.com was titled "How to darn a sock"! We could choose the titles from a list and I chose this sock darning article because I know how to darn socks and nobody else wanted to claim this title. It actually earned me $25 dollars in total and so I wrote for Mahalo.com until, well, their untimely end.

I then wrote for Wikinut.com in the UK and for Redgage.com and I also run a few blogs on Blogger. For a while I earned just enough there to keep on writing.

And now I will write for Steemit, because I think that their concept is just about the best online writing opportunity right now/ever and it's early days, so just for once I think I'm in the right place at the right time.

What will I write about? - Well, basically about my rather adventurous life, some of the insights gained on the way and more than anything I will write about health, real self-sufficiency and urban gardening.

For over 14 years, my husband and I had a small homestead in some remote Spanish mountains and life was great, but physically harder than most people think. Here is a little video I made back then about our solar installation:

We then had the opportunity to buy this modernized cave house with a small terrace and some extra little space for gardening and now we are running a vertical garden with vegetables, fruit/nut trees, medicinal and culinary herbs as well as 3 geese, a rapidly changing number of quails and an earthworm hotel. We will add a couple of meat rabbits next year.

We are both over 60 and I can assure younger folks that life can be a lot of fun if one is healthy, has a sense of humor and is financially a bit independent.

But .....

Sometimes there is this niggling feeling in the back of my mind that maybe one day we'll either see a war or the FIAT currencies go down or the banks steal our money from the account, who knows. No, I'm not terribly worried about it, because the van and the cave house are paid for and we have enough live food to see us through bad times.

But ....

Wouldn't it be nice to have a few Bitcoins stashed away? Or going shopping with Bitcoins on the internet? Or have some alternative currency stashed away - just in case?

3 x Yes is enough motivation for me to power up laptop and smartphone and comment and write and invest on Steemit.

Now, if you want to hear about my years sailing around Europe as a single girl, my career as a software teacher in Germany or the story of how I met my husband through a newspaper ad (there was no internet back then) or our homestead adventures in Spain, stay tuned, follow me and of course, I will follow you as well.

BTW: There is much talk on the internet about "taking the red pill". I didn't know what that meant and googled it. Oh well, in that case, I took the red pill 20 years ago, investigated just about everything and found ..... lies and more lies and more lies. Of course I was angry that some sort of government and banking clowns were able to deceive and confuse me for so long. But I soon recovered and set to work. Everything I studied or found out I verified by acturally DOING it. And after a while I found that the truth is usually uncomfortable at first, but hey! Once accepted the truth becomes sooooo much easier! Easier to live, easier to spot again and again, in short, we are now simply happy to live and breathe the truth which admittedly is sometimes rather personal, but generally the truth is the truth and we can find it easily in every subject and issue if we just keep looking.

Love,

Antje

Sort:  

Wow. Awesome intro. I'm looking forward to hearing about living in a cave house. I imagine it's cool in there year round.

Thank you @bodyinbeta! Yes living in a modernized cave house is totally brilliant! We have over 30 degrees C outside every day here in Andalucia/Spain now, but inside the cave it's around 20 degrees C. Just comfortable! And yes, I will write more about living in a cavehouse after I've finished my gardening series. See you! :)

Hell Antje

I found your article really motivating since we are trying to take the same path. Thank you so much! Its great to see you have made a success through these choices. I have the same concerns and worries myself :) All the best Monica

I'm glad you are on the way as well! I hope I didn't sound to pessimistic, what I really want to say is that people can only get ruled by fear and hunger. Growing my own food this way (and everybody can do this!), has stopped all my concerns and worries and I hope you will find the same peace of mind and heart!

Great intro antje. Hier kann man auch auf deutsch schreiben aŭ en iu alia lingvo, kiun vi ŝatas. Bonvenon je Steemit. Mi sekvas vin.

Thank you, @johano, I may well write in German and Spanish, too. It's so nice that we can write in other languages as well here. Steemit ist eine tolle Sache! Espero que pronto mucha gente de España van a escribir por Steemit también.

Hola, bienvenida! Aquí una venezolana, esperaré que escribas español, jajaja.

jajaja, hablo Español, pero no escribo muy bien. Quiere decir mi gramatica es fatal. Pero parece que la gente me entienden. Hasta pronto! :)

Jes, bonega afero!

Only English, German and Spanish here! I know you know German and English. Lets talk? :)

Congratulations @antje! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35