My first post

in #introduction7 years ago

Hello! I'm new here, so I thought I'd put up a post to introduce myself.
I'm an old fart, a former musician who would like to still be doing that, a food gardener (during the garden season) and a builder of small vacumn tube amps for guitar and bass. None of which I'm famous for.
I'm also interested in narrow gauge railroads and steam powered things.
The picture is the new greenhouse that we built last fall. This is my first spring using it, and I'm quite happy with it.
DSCN6821.JPG

Sort:  

its painful to see such a eautiful greenhouse being used as fucking storage..what terrible priorities! go tell that person tey could be growing plants! keep that crap elsewhere!!! this is against the laws of permaculture! all usable space MUST be used or else kidds in africa etc etc

welcome to steemit bitch!

i just send you $1 in SBD
lolol

There's a bunch of tomato plants in it now. :-) Some of what you see is actually water heat storage to help keep the greenhouse from getting too cold at night.
The picture was taken in April, when it was still too cold to put plants in the greenhouse.

Welcome! Nice greenhouse. I would love something like that--I've always thought it would be awesome to have a greenhouse that was warm enough in winter that you could go sit in there, maybe take a book, and have your own little sunny oasis surrounded by snow. I'm guessing it would be too expensive to heat (I live in Minnesota), but makes for a nice wintertime daydream.

Anyway, enjoy Steemit.

Yeah, I don't heat it in the winter, too expensive. I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, stuck between Wisconsin and Lake Superior. It's too cold at night here to start using the greenhouse until about the end of April. I have some passive heat storage in the greenhouse that helps keep the greenhouse a bit warmer at night, but if the outside temps go much below freezing, it loses heat pretty quickly.
I'd like to have a sunroom attached to the south side of the house, it would be easier to keep that usable in the winter.

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56