Introducing myself...looking forward to connections unexplored.

in #introducingmyself6 years ago (edited)

27336558_10155447240937869_8179881619204070968_n.jpgHey Steemians!

My Name is Pete McGowan I am a coffee entrepreneur in Belding Michigan, a rural community in US. I love meeting people and encouraging them along their day. Coffee has given me the opportunity to do that professionally. I began Third Wave Coffee with my wife in August 2014 with the help of several of our close friends. Starting a business was motivated by my need for additional income as I was serving a local church community in our city at the time as a Pastor. I've always been drawn towards the places where community naturally happens and is fostered and this fueled my passion behind bringing this to the town I call home.
12308396_889983184403952_5316993216252376959_n.jpg
My passion for coffee and ministry has continued to be the calling card behind what happens at Third Wave Coffee. We believe it is our job to be a blessing to those who come through our doors and we want to in turn grow our city and make it better. I experimented with roasting coffee in my garage with an air popcorn popper and began to get more consistent and invested in a experimental coffee roaster (more posts to follow) after watching a TedX talk on roasting fresh coffee. 2 years into the process, our wholesale coffee roasting has greatly enhanced what we offer in the shop. Third Wave Coffee is a reference to expanding the quality and pushing standards farther than some more popular big-box specialty shops offer. My coffee experience began at a small mom-and-pop shop and I actually couldn't stand the taste of coffee. I met some people at the time who had opened their own shop and were roasting their own coffee. They challenged my little experience in coffee and forced me to try different things and I actually liked coffee :)

Ministry is actually what my schooling and degree is in. My dad was an entrepreneur and I felt ministry was a better fit for me. Who knew I would in fact mold the two. I have been vocationally a Pastor in some sense since I was 20. I am now part of a church plant within the space I rent for our business called Mosaic Ministries. I began that adventure in October of 2017 and feel it is an extension of my calling to making an impact in Belding.

Why am I here?
I was enlightened to the Steemit movement by some friends @theferalone and @kokibyivana. They have shared some of the exposure and connections they have made through the community here and I was enticed to be a part of what's going on. My story is not special...I look forward to meeting and sharing experiences with others who share the same passions for life and I want to spur others on. Thanks for the time to share! Looking forward to the stories we will share! Blessings!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit.

Welcome To Steemit! This is a great place to network with other people from all over the world. If you continually post great content you will grow a following in no time and start making some nice author rewards.
You are really going to like it here. This is a unique place where there is no competition. Instead, we all work to build success by helping each other out. The best way to grow is to build Steem Power and vote to reward other authors.
I encourage you to take the time to search for other posts that interest you and upvote them. Also, start following authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following.
Check out my first DTube video: https://steemit.com/life/@joaopedrosilva/yrocz4yz
Best Of Luck!
João Pedro Silva

welcome to steemit comunity i hope you enjoy here :-)

Thanks! Really liking it so far.

Hi and welcome to Steem!

Welcome to steemit my friend! Glad you’re here 😊

Thanks, Damaris!

I just read @theferalone post about buying coffee from you with SBD. So awesome! Thank you for doing your part to grow this community! Happy journeys along the way :)

Thanks for checking me out! Really excited about the connections and look forward to being a part of Steemit!

Great to have you Pete! Found you via @theferalone . Look forward to your next post.

Thanks for the visit!

Great intro post. Best wishes and happiness to you and your family. Keep posting :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41