Introducing Cupid Zero

in #introducingmyself7 years ago (edited)


Introducing Cupid Zero

I am very pleased to introduce myself! I first heard of Steemit during the Adpocalypse when many of my favored voices began seeking new ways to survive the censorship-via-demonetization attacks of Youtube and Google. Having been "red-pilled" some years ago, I have been actively following such voices to inform myself of the best means of surviving and breaking free from the fiat matrix. Realizing a new wave of opportunity is rising, I have decided grab my long board and paddle out to catch the wave. Steemit looks like the best opportunity to promote free speech that I have seen in a long time and not one I am going to let pass me by.

Who I am

I have been many things throughout my life. I consider myself primarily a thinker, a writer and a bon vivant, but I have had to work hard to keep a roof over my head since I came of age. I've worked in the service, retail and security fields, as a ghost writer and translator and was also a small business owner for many years, all while pursuing a higher education for longer than was entirely sane. I am a prolific reader and spend at least two hours a day and often six or more reading and expanding my horizons. My hobby, I often tell my friends, is informing myself about how the world works. And that, ultimately, is what brought me here...

What came before

Having slogged through the postmodern wasteland of higher education for almost twenty years, I learned the hard way that freedom of speech and thought are increasingly considered not rights, but privileges. Questioning "tradition" and "authority" has become something not only often discouraged, but actively suppressed. Nevertheless I persisted in my pursuit of a seat in the ivory tower, treading the fine line between dissimulation and obeisance to a system that I was becoming increasingly disillusioned with. During those years I believed, as many do who are still toiling upwards, that once I became tenured I would be "free" to research and teach what I pleased.

Slowly however, I realized I simply couldn't compromise my morals or my reason enough to satisfy the increasingly dystopian privileging of subjectivity over objectively demonstrable reality that has become rampant in higher education. So, with much soul-searching, I left the ivory tower and went back to "teaching in the trenches" as my colleagues like to say, aiming to teach critical thinking skills and to prepare young people for success in the "real world". It was a difficult choice, but one I have never regretted.

What I want to achieve

It was around the time I left the university environment that the blinders really came off. I discovered the "alternative media" and began to better understand how and why the world works as it does. Since then I have done my best to turn towards truth, regardless of how discomforting it often is. I also realized I could no longer sit idly by, fiddling as the world burns. I began small, seeking to promote knowledge and provide a different perspective among my family, friends and students. But the challenge is global, and I have decided that I have to do more to affect good than what is possible in my day-to-day face-to-face interactions. To that end I want to raise my voice to try and reach a wider audience. I intend to so in blog, vlog and article form treating sociopolitical topics, the monetary system, blockchain technology and anything else that catches my fancy.

Given the reality of my position and my unconventional, i.e. voluntaryism views, until I have achieved financial independence (and I have many irons in the fire), I perceive it as necessary to write pseudonymously under a nom de plume for the time being. I may well be overly cautious, but I look forward to the day when I no longer perceive that as necessary. Until then, I will be coming to you as...

Yours truly,

Cupid Zero

Sort:  

Welcome! I can relate to your hobby. When I was reading things for school when I was younger I used to wish reading all day and acquiring knowledge just for myself was a profession.
Sounds like you've had to make some difficult decisions along the way. I hope it will get you where you want to be. Good luck!

Welcome to Steemit @cupidzero
Upvoted and following
SDG

Thanks to all who have welcomed me to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit! Great to have you around! I hope you will enjoy Steemit as much as I do! :-)

Welcome @cupidzero - nice to meet you here.
You sound like you will fit right in 👍

Followed

Welcome to Steemit @cupidzero

Nice of you to join us, it is a honour having you on this platform.

You can participate in the 50 Word Story Contest for new steemians for a chance to win Big.

Thanks for the welcome. I like the idea of the contest, thanks for the invitation and I will submit a 50 word story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31