My Self-Composed, Self-E[steem]

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Snapchat-81220015314294323267f2bf.jpg

Well, hello strange people of the internet,

     I'm currently sitting at my desk, drowning in collegiate responsibilities, and drinking $6 wine out of a coffee mug . I initially spent a lot of time over analyzing the picture I wanted to post and wondering why I don't take more selfies like the average millennial...only to post this cringe worthy soft smile selfie. 

 Regardless of my despondent preface, I actually care about quite a few things.  I'm a psychology major--and before you make some crack about pseudoscience--I truly value how psychology embodies that dichotomy: using science to study something as mystical as the brain. I'm also a biology and gerontology minor. I have a passion for geriatrics and plan to go into Occupational Therapy just to experience the authenticity and truth older adults tend to offer.  

 I like to think of myself as an intellect, pondering the nature of the universe, but I'm probably just an over thinker who takes comfort in not knowing anything. I believe anyone can be a philosopher and the people who have shaped my thinking most are not our assumed philosophers, but authors and movie makers. 

Cue...one of my favorite books: Stranger in a Strange Land (Robert A. Heinlein.)

and... one of my favorite movies: Mr. Nobody


(I'll probably be writing more about this sometime.)

Okay, out of the ethereal and back to things that I love, such as nature. It's my grounded belief that trees and the elderly are the best of company. I love nothing more than walking through silent forests of the Midwest and just looking around. I have lots of pictures of trees, however I've chosen to showcase some of my beloved succulents in the picture below.

One time I loved and cared for a succulent for 3 months before realizing the leaves were rubber and the soil was filled with Styrofoam. I tell this story because it is a good metaphor for almost anything and an even better life anecdote that I'll tell to the day I die. Anyway here are my REAL succulents:

One of my most favorite places in the world is the theater I work at. The past--wow--8 years, this place has been my home. It's definitely a humble little place, but it holds plenty of history and even more memories.

So, besides $6 wine in a mug, philosophers, plants, and an overuse of commas.... what else do I offer you by my existence on Steem? I'll probably write somethings, read almost anything , and try to learn everything.

If you actually made it to the end of this ridiculous post, you get to see a picture of me not soft smiling. (lucky you?)

Sort:  

Who are you calling strange, stranger? lol Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you :)

Welcome aboard!
From the sound of you're interests..you should fit right in here!

And great choice for a favorite book, Stranger in a Strange Land is definitely up there in my lists. :)

Drink Deep--glad to find another Water Brother on here!

haven't seen mr nobody! i might have to check that one out!
great intro! upvoted :) welcome!

I highly recommend, I've watched it over 8 times and I still find something life changing about it every single time!
Thanks :)

Welcome to steemit @zugzwang34 :)

Are you sure you still work here?

I'll always be a park employee whether I'm on the payroll or not--just like everyone who gets sucked into that place

welcome! great smile! :)

Thank you! and you have some absolutely fantastic art. I'm already loving this talented community.

cute little plants!

Thank you, they are very much loved <3

welcome have fun and meet new people!

Thank you! :)

Welcome @zugzwang34! Nice smile!!
Your intro post is very entertaining!
Where in IL? I'm in WI.

Thanks! I'm from south suburbs. Wisconsin is a great place <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38