A Millennial's Journey- My First Steemit Post

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Hola, Hei, Hallo, Dobar Dan, Cześć

Hi Guys!

My name is Alexander, I first heard about Steemit about six months ago. At the time, I did not understand why this “Facebook mixed with reddit” required you to buy “tokens” and it seemed odd and cumbersome. Fast forward to May 22nd, 2017, this was the day my eyes were opened to cryptocurrency. I spent the next two weeks scouring the internet for any information about blockchain, bitcoin, cryptocurrency, etc…THIS is when I had my Steemit epiphany. A decentralized social media site that PAYS you to contribute and that lets the COMMUNITY decide.WOW!

About Me:

I’m 25, and I was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona.
“Like my father, before me.” (nerdy Star Wars joke, but seriously)

View from Camelback

Childhood:

At the age of four, my mom enrolled me in Taekwondo. Other than football, this consumed my childhood for the next decade.

My dad graduated from Arizona State University, where we had season tickets and were huge ASU football fans. I can remember listening on the radio as some backup named Andrew Walter was put in the game with ASU down 21 points on the road to #6 Oregon in 2002. This was Walter's coming out party. The 6’6” NFL bound QB went on to throw for a school record 536 yards and 4 touchdowns in the Devils’ 45-42 come from behind victory. “You dream about getting a win in a place like this,” Walter said. From that day on, I had my own dream to lead an ASU comeback one day.

Andrew Walter 2014
Andrew Walter 2014

High School:

Due to some unique circumstances, I played for three different high schools. As a freshman, I attended the local powerhouse and stood 6' tall, 138 lbs soaking wet. I was the backup and played mop up time on freshman and JV the next two seasons. After years of training I finally filled out to 6’2” 195 lbs going into my senior season. I finished top 20 in the state as well as top 5 in the division in all passing statistics which lead to an all region selection. I did not have any scholarship offers at the end of my season, but I was 100% confident I had not played my last down of football.

Greenway W vs Thunderbird

Greenway W over Washington

College:

signing day

On Feb 3, 2010, I signed a scholarship to play for Pima Community College. Those who have played junior college football know the intense conditions. This is where guys go to keep their dream alive. Some guys think that they got overlooked in high school, some are great players that didn’t meet the grade requirements. There’s also the guys that are playing just because they’re not ready to hang up the cleats. This results in junior college guys playing with a chip on their shoulder that never goes away. They always have something to prove, and maybe do things with a little extra swagger.
Cam Newton
Arron Rodgers

In August I entered my first college camp with the assumption the starter would be back. That turned out not to be the case, and in an instant it was an open competition between myself and a local QB who was more highly recruited. After an intense battle in camp I was able to win the position, but I was informed we would share time under center. This went on for the majority of the season before I was able to win the position outright. We finished the season with a strong win over Phoenix College.
enter image description here

I was extremely excited heading into my sophomore season, I was the starter and believed we were capable of reaching a bowl game. A couple other QBs in the conference were drawing interest from D-1 schools, which was extremely encouraging.

enter image description here

After starting the season 1-2 I suffered a transverse process fracture in my back that ended my season. I applied for a medical redshirt by the NJCAA and was denied. Just like that, I thought my football career might be finished.

enter image description here

In December of 2012, I reconnected with a coach that had recruited me between my freshman and sophomore seasons at Pima and accepted a scholarship to Colorado Mesa University. After off season throwing and prior to spring ball we lost our Offensive Coordinator to another school. I could read the writing on the wall. This new coach had not recruited me, did not know who I was, and didn’t care to get to know.

Post Spring Game

While I was home for Easter I spoke with my local Quarterback coach about the situation. He recommended I look into playing overseas instead of giving the game up entirely. Prior to this, I had never heard of it and was completely unaware there was football played in Europe. I was driving back to Grand Junction extremely confused what to do, as a fighter, I wanted to stay and compete to win the spot in the fall. After listening to Personal Power from Tony Robbins my entire drive back to Colorado, “focus on what you can control” was the message in my head. I took some time, did some research and discovered my friend's buddy was a QB that had gone to play in Germany and won the German Bowl. They said he had a great experience, so I ultimately decided to forego the rest of my college football eligibility, contacted some teams in Europe and signed a contract to play American football in Finland “professionally.” At 21 I flew across the world to Oulu Finland, and while I was closing the door on my college career, my European career was just getting started. I played for four teams over the next five years.
1st game in Finland

Europe:

American Football in Europe is extremely different than in the United States. Each country has a rule about how many Americans can play on the field at a time. Germany and most countries permit two on each side of the ball at a time. It is not as popular to the masses, but to those who love it, they love it more than the average American. Usually, athletes come from other sports to try it and then they fall in love with the game. These are good athletes, some of the best in their country at their sport. But, this generally means they may not step on a football field until they are 14-17 years old at the youngest. Football has been in Germany for about 40 years and it varies throughout to only 15 years in Serbia. All of the organizations are independent and are required to raise their own funds through sponsorships and local partnerships (Some are as big as the Frankfurt Universe, who are now sponsored by Samsung).

enter image description here
Silas Nacita- Frankfurt Universe

Anthony Dable' New Yorker Lions - now with the Atlanta Falcons

The age of men who play is from 19- 38 with your average player being 24-28. These men all have full time jobs or are students who do this in their spare time, they are like a giant family. Teams pay to bring in "import" players from the United States and other countries in Europe to add to their core. It's like a hobby that they are obsessed with. I've met some of the most dedicated football players I've ever met in my entire life over there. I'm talking about guys driving 110 miles to practice...one way... THREE times a week. The most frequent question among the top European players is "I always wonder what if I had been born in the U.S.?"

Moritz Boehringer- Drafted in 2016 from German Football League
enter image description here
Jakub Rystecki #73 #1 OT in Poland, #9 - Me, #75 Arek Cieślok #1 DL in Poland,
#40 Grant DePalma Western Michigan LB

I went on to play in Finland, Germany, Serbia, and Poland winning the GFL2 South, CEFL and Serbian championships.
DSC_0828.jpg

On bye weeks I was traveling around Europe.

fullsizeoutput_12fb.jpeg
enter image description here
IMG_2576.JPG

All expenses were paid and I usually had plenty of spending money to live and enjoy myself like I was on vacation.

enter image description here
When I was in the country, I had friends show me some of the best restaurants, pubs, and tourist attractions.
IMG_1824.JPG
I had a goal from the time I was a child to take football as far as I could, and I achieved that. It may not have been how I envisioned it but I can't imagine it any other way. My journey made me the man I am today and I am stronger because of it all. Ultimately, I am just thankful to the Lord. I was able to see some of the most beautiful things this world has to offer. I got to live and immerse myself in other cultures and take off my American blinders. I HAD A LOT OF FUN. The people I met on my journey were definitely the best part and it's fun to share a bond with people across the globe. People may have different customs and speak different languages, but I learned that all people want the same thing… a good job, friends/ family, a good drink, and someone to share it with.

Thanks and Steem on!
Instagram @ zmckean

My Future Posts : Pictures, Sports, Drones, Technology, Crypto, Freedom,General Wellness, and Travel tips

Are you an athlete looking to play ball overseas? Check out https://recruit.thepodyum.com/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @zmckean I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit, @zmckean!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Hey, Alexander! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Thanks Razvan! I'm excited to join the community!

Great intro. The world is changing and thought leaders like the Steemit community are what is needed. Looking forward to your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75