Hello world - my introduction

Hi everybody,

(German version below)
my name is Olaf and you might have guessed, Zharadum is my nickname. I generally use it as character name in games. I am 38 years old and live in Germany. Therefore some of my posts might be in German only, others will be English only and some - like this one - will be written in both.


IMG_9281.JPG

My personal life

The last two years have not been easy, since my wife and I have separated. But things are moving in the right direction again. Now I live in the house with my two cats Olly & Stew:


IMG_6187.JPG

...um, well, Olly & Stew:


IMG_5569.JPG

...and my son is visiting me regularly and we are having a lot of quality time together.


IMG_9438.JPG

Ever since I can think of, I was interested in playing computer games. It all stared with an Amiga 500 my uncle owned and we played many games together, mostly strategy (Civilization) or arcade games (Rainbow Islands, Bubble Bobble, Paradroid 90). When I was 10 years old, I bought my own first computer with money I saved over years - the same Amiga 500 my uncle introduced to me. I will definitely write some retro gaming posts on steemit.

But I also got enough fresh air, because I was playing a lot of soccer with my friends and my club. I even was selected one of the best youth soccer players in southern Germany at the age of 14. I am quite proud of that, but it never led to playing soccer professionally in the end.

With 17, I spent one year in an US-American High School in Louisiana. So if you recognized my accent, it is a relic from back then. Looking back, one thing was especially thrilling: I totally discovered the mindset most Americans share, that you can achieve everything you want, if you choose to do so. I guess this really triggered my passion for being an entrepreneur.

My professional life

Right after returning from the US, I started writing as a free-lance journalist. Most of it was reviewing computer games. Many of my articles were published in the official German PlayStation Magazine. In the link your will find my (German) review for Grand Theft Auto, quite exactly 20 years ago. My written language sucked back then, though.

Grand Theft Auto - Review - Das offizielle PlayStation Magazin, Edition 01/1998, pages 67-69, German only

I never recovered from working in the gaming industry. I have been part of this great family ever since for the last 21 years in different roles from journalism to sales to marketing and back again.

Starting this year my best friend and myself founded a new company. I might tell you about that later, but this is not the focus of my intro post. I also work as management consultant, so in case you own a business (it can be tiny, small or big) and would like to know more about my services, tell me and we might even be able to take care of this via STEEM, SP or SBD ;)

My hobbies and interests

Finally, why am I here?
Actually, I have a passion for writing. I started my professional life with writing. Unfortunately, during the last 10 years, this got lost because of the time invest necessary for my job. For me, steemit is a way to rediscover my roots in writing, creating and sharing content. I hope you all will enjoy reading some of it.

Beside gaming, I love photography. I wouldn't consider myself a good photographer, but I love taking pictures, mostly combined when traveling.


IMG_7977.JPG

Whiskey, crypto and sports are the remaining words, I used describing my interests:
Whiskey is a synonym for excellent quality liquor, be it rum, whisky, wine or tequila. Nothing more enjoyable than having a sip of Laphroaig Quarter Cask in the evening sitting near my fireplace.
Crypto currencies are interesting from multiple dimensions. I guess, I don't have to go into too much detail here, because you are probably all more informed than I am.
And finally sports, I used to love doing it, but more and more it converted into watching it... feels bad, need to change this. But only after the Soccer World Championship this year. Germany defending its title.

Thank you for your attention and happy steeming!
Olaf


Hallo zusammen,

mein Name ist Olaf und ihr habt richtig geraten, mein Nickname ist Zharadum. Ich nutze diesen für gewöhnlich auch als Charakternamen in Computerspielen. Ich bin 38 Jahre alt und lebe in Deutschland. Deswegen werden auch manche meiner Posts nur in deutsch verfasst sein, andere nur in englisch und manche – wie dieser – in beiden Sprachen.

Persönliches

Die letzten beiden Jahre waren für mich nicht ganz einfach, was hauptsächlich an der Trennung von meiner Frau liegt. Aber die Dinge bewegen sich wieder in die richtige Richtung. Zur Zeit lebe ich mit meinen beiden Katern Olly & Stew zusammen und mein Sohn besucht mich regelmäßig und wir genießen die gemeinsame Zeit.

Solang ich zurückdenken kann, bin ich an Computerspielen interessiert. Es hat alles mit dem Amiga 500 meines Onkels angefangen. Wir haben oft gemeinsam Spiele ausprobiert, insbesondere Strategiespiele (z.B. Civilization) und Arcade Games (z.B. Rainbow Islands, Bubble Bobble, Paradroid 90). Als ich 10 Jahre alt war, habe ich mir von meinem ersten über die Jahre angesparten Taschengeld ebenfalls einen Amiga 500 gekauft. Ich werde hier auf steemit definitiv den einen oder anderen Retro Gaming Post verfassen.

Aber ich habe auch stets genug Frischluft zugeführt, weil ich damals sehr viel Fußball mit meinen Freunden und im Verein gespielt habe. Ich wurde mit 14 sogar als einer der besten Jugendspieler in die süddeutsche Auswahl berufen. Da bin ich immer noch ziemlich stolz drauf, auch wenn das nie dazu geführt hat, dass ich professioneller Liga-Spieler geworden bin.

Mit 17 habe ich ein Schuljahr an einer amerikanischen High School in Louisiana verbracht. Solltet ihr also meinen merkwürdigen englischen Dialekt bemerkt haben, dann ist dies ein Überbleibsel von damals. Zurückblickend war allerdings eines wirklich spannend: Ich hatte die Möglichkeit das Mindset der meisten Amerikaner zu erkunden, dass man alles erreichen kann, wenn man hart dafür arbeitet, daran glaubt und es einfach macht. Ich denke, das hat meine Passion als Entrepreneur tätig zu sein entfacht.

Berufliches

Direkt nach meiner Rückkehr aus den USA habe ich begonnen als freier Autor zu arbeiten. Meistens habe ich Computerspiele gestestet und vorgestellt. Viele meiner Artikel wurden damals im offiziellen PlayStation Magazin veröffentlicht. Im Link (oben) findet ihr mein Review zum ersten Grand Theft Auto, ziemlich genau 20 Jahre her, Ausgabe 01/98. Mein Schreibstil mit 18 war allerdings rückblickend betrachtet noch nicht sonderlich ausgereift.

Ich habe mich nie wirklich von der Arbeit in der Spieleindustrie erholt. Ich bin seitdem und nun 21 Jahre in verschiedenen Rollen vom Journalisten über den Verkauf und das Marketing und wieder zurück Teil dieser großartigen Familie.

Anfang diesen Jahres habe ich mit meinem besten Freund eine neue Firma gegründet. Ich erzähle Euch darüber vielleicht später mehr, aber das ist nicht das Thema meines Intro-Posts. Zudem bin ich freiberuflich als Unternehmensberater tätig. Solltet ihr also ein Business haben (winzig, klein oder groß) und wollt mehr darüber erfahren, gebt mir einfach Bescheid. Wir können dann vielleicht sogar etwas über STEEM, SP oder SBD abwickeln ;)

Meine Hobbys und Interessen

Letztlich, warum bin ich hier?
Kurzum, ich habe eine Passion fürs Schreiben. Ich habe meine beruflich Laufbahn mit Schreiben angefangen. Leider ging dies in den letzten 10 Jahren aufgrund der Zeit, die ich in meinen Job investieren musste, etwas verloren. Für mich ist steemit ein Weg meine Wurzeln in Bezug auf Content creation und sharing wiederzuentdecken. Ich hoffe euch gefällt das Lesen einiger meiner Posts in der Zukunft.

Neben Gaming liebe ich die Fotografie. Ich würde nicht von mir behaupten, dass ich ein guter Fotograf bin, aber ich liebe es Bilder zu machen, insbesondere wenn ich auf Reisen bin. Whiskey, Kryptowährungen und Sport habe ich ebenfalls als Interessen in meinem Profil hervorgehoben.

Whisky ist dabei ein Synonym für hochwertige alkoholische Getränke, sei es Rum, Whiskey, Wein oder Tequila. Es gibt nichts Vergnüglicheres als abends einen kleinen Schluck Laphroaig Quarter Cask vor meinem Kamin zu genießen.

Kryptowährungen haben aus sehr verschiedenen Blickwinkeln mein Interesse geweckt. Ich glaube, ich muss hier nicht allzu sehr ins Detail gehen, weil ihr vermutlich alle noch besser informiert seid, als ich.

Und zu guter Letzt noch Sport. Früher machte ich ihn selbst, aber mehr und mehr hat sich das in ein Zuschauen gewandelt… fühlt sich schlecht an und muss geändert werden. Allerdings erst nach der Fußball WM im Sommer, wenn wir unseren Titel verteidigen. ;)

Ich danke euch für eure Aufmerksamkeit und happy steeming!
Olaf

Sort:  

Hallo @zharadum !

Dies ist eine automatische Nachricht.

Anscheinend hast Du das erste Mal auf #deutsch geschrieben.
Willkommen bei Steemit !
Schau doch mal im https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch vorbei !

Herzlich willkommen ;) Ich schicke dir gleich noch @neuvorstellungen mit ein paar Tipps vorbei! LG, @theaustrianguy aka Martin

Kids are awesome!

Welcome to steemit @zharadum I really like how happy you seem especially with your two cats lol.. And Yhh I love computer games too.. Pro evolution soccer my best.. Hopefully we can get along @philipuyi

Thank you very much! Yes, the two totally drive me crazy in a positive way. I was never good at playing FIFA or Pro Evolution, preferred Football Managers, but I am sure we will also find similar game interests.

Congratulations to you my friend, I welcome you to a beautiful friendship relation with us and look forward to a long term association with us. I wish we share loads of beautiful moments to be cherished forever.

Please follow me and upvote my posts. Thanks!

Wow!! a game journalist here. Glad to meet you~ Welcome in steemit!!

Wouldn't consider myself a game journalist at the moment, more like a gaming fan. Thank you. And I see you also write about games, great stuff!

Thanks, I'm also just a gaming fan.

I directly had to try a d-tube video upload playing some Diablo 3 :)
https://steemit.com/dtube/@zharadum/gbg2gqu1

Viel Spaß und Erfolg hier!

Danke, Ersteres steht im Vordergrund. ;)

Servus OLaf, willkommen auf Steemit. Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen deutschen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schaue einfach mal in unserem Chat vorbei: https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch oder im neuen Discordkanal (https://discord.gg/cZxtnv), wo bald auch virtuelle Meetups stattfinden werden.

Vielen lieben Dank, werde ich definitiv tun ;)

Herzlich Willkommen hier!

Herzlichen Dank! ;)

hey, cooler name und willkommen bei steemit :D

Danke Dir ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42