A $200 leap of faith

Since my daughter was born in May I've been following the crypto market, but it's taken until late December for me to realise that blockchain is here to stay and there is no use resisting this new world of possibilities. I hate to think of how much I could have made if I bought in while I had the Coinbase app open in May - but that’s hindsight...

I think what caused my delay was the hive mind, where almost everyone I know think that cryptocurrencies are a hoax as it's all worth nothing and doesn't exist physically. They say it's a bubble waiting to burst and that it's far too volatile to be something worth investing in. To be honest, I think is a bubble, but all new technologies that end up being successful are bubbles in their initial phases. The problem is that we aren't sure how much it will burst; I think today's interconnected world is a lot more educated with information at their fingertips to make better choices than our predecessors in the dot-com era for example. Let’s see!

So what made me take the plunge? It was probably the collapse of bitcoin in December which served as a good entry point. However, I don't have an extraordinarily large pool of disposable income, I promised myself that $200 is all I will invest and I will need to exercise due diligence to make this small money grow. Within a week I've turned that $200 into over $300 which is mostly a mix of research and hodling. Since then, I've enticed my brother to invest $200 of his own and we are now making it a game to see who can make the most money in 2018.

My goal beyond 2018 is to make enough money for my daughter to give to her when she turns 18 (in 2030) to help kickstart her adult life - who knows what the world will be like then!

I wish you the best luck with your coins! Here's to a successful 2018 and beyond!

One question I have for the community - how long until people put aside their shortsighted views on blockchain, or rather how do we overcome this?

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steem 😀

But then what is better then investing in steem or ETH ? Welcome to Steemit ;-)

Welcome! May all our 2018s and beyond be profitable!

Welcome to Steemit community @zarrakis, I hope you will have a blast here :)

Thanks very much!

Congratulations @zarrakis, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

How fun! Challenging each other to make the biggest profit. Just remember that it is a risk you take to trade and profit from the trading market. But I like that you are playing safe and small to learn and experience. Keep on practicing!! Good luck.

Welcome to Steemit @zarrakis

Welcome to #steemit I am new to the whole chain also. You are right about the new age having more information and being more diligent with our choices. I believe just by reading this that you are right on track. again welcome and enjoy!

ey! Check out my page you may like the one article.
Welcome to steemit! This is a great place to network with other people. Participation is key, so be as active as you can. I have upvoted and followed you. So, please follow and up-vote me @pharmacy-jinni . Also @Originalworks BOOM

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @zarrakis to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi @zarrakis. Remember that the love and the time that you devote to your daughter will be more important than money. This bubble will never break. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41