You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello! I'm Derek, a Canadian landscape photographer, and I'd like to share a few photos with you and tell you my story. :)

Awesome to read more about you man! And some absolutely gorgeous pictures too. Thanks for the shoutout, glad that @photofeed has been a source of support for you!

Also, I love The Lord of the Rings as well, and I think part of the reason is that Tolkien's writing has a way of making nature come alive in a way that not many books do.

P.S. I was homeschooled until high school, no wonder we're both so smart! ;)

Sort:  

That's what I done always said about you two... you two is smrt

I smrt and red gud.

Oh yeah, @yumyumseth, Photofeed has been a big deal for a lot of people. Thank you guys. :)

Yes, I agree with that too - literally alive, in many cases. Also he strips away the artificial and material aspects from the lives of his characters - they're usually only traveling with what they can carry on their backs. People in nature trying to be good in a bad world. Timeless.

P.S. We're KINDRED SPIRITS! :D

This is happy news! :)

Yeah, that's a really good point! It's such simple and beautiful storytelling with bits of otherworldy weirdness thrown in here and there to keep you guessing.

Haha wahoo! Did you like being homeschooled? What curriculum did you use?

I think I liked it as a kid too (did you?), but I really started to like it when I grew up and saw what school was doing to kids. I am so thankful I was homeschooled and wouldn't have had it any other way. I did the Alpha Omega Online high school.

BJ and Me was my jam. Oh Bob Jones. Those losers who did Sunlight were dumb.

Uh huh. I'm guessing you did too? ;)

Haha no!! I did Bob Jones University curriculum. Which probably explains a lot of things about myself now.

This explains everything.

Now it all makes sense.... (actually I have no idea).

Good answer.

Yeah, I loved it as a kid! I could have my schoolwork done by noon then spend the rest of the day running around in the backyard pretending I was Daniel Boone! I had some other close friends who were also homeschooled, so I think that made it more enjoyable as well. As I got into Jr. High, I definitely was interested in going to a public school where I would have more social opportunities, but I never felt like super confined by being homeschooled or anything like that.

Gotcha, I did Sonlight if you've ever heard of that haha.

That explains the lumberjack beard and the red checked shirt (not that Daniel Boone had those things, but, y'know, stereotypes)...

Sorry, I haven't heard of Sonlight, but I have to admit I'm not up on my homeschooling curricula. Unfortunately I didn't interact much with other homeschoolers (was a loner even then), so I didn't know what else was around. My parents could probably tell ya. :)

Haha I guess it gives it a little context eh!? :)

Well I'm deeply offended! Just kidding, I don't think it was very big. Basically involved a ton of reading books which I loved.

You said "eh"!!!

Did you have to also analyze the books and do essays or did they actually let you read them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94