Introduction of a Norwegian yogi to Steemit!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello lovely people!

My name is Tone, I just turned 26 years old and I live just south of Stavanger, close to the sea on the coast of beautiful Norway. Here's a brief introduction about me.
Screen Shot 2017-08-31 at 11.12.50.png
When I was 17 I wanted to study to become a classical pianist, but when I got the opportunity to take part in a local musical I fell in love with the thought of dancing on stage (and not just sitting). I auditioned and got in to a musical theatre school in Oslo and after two years there I got accepted at a prestige drama school in England, Guildford school of acting. I left my little country in 2012 and moved to Guildford, Surrey, just outside London.

I was in paradise. Every day started with ballet, jazz or tap, we had singing lessons and tap classes and I was surrounded by people who had the same passion for theatre that I had. The joy didn't last too long, however. Halfway through second year I had a foot injury that increasingly worsened and I had to defer third year and watch my friends graduate without me. The pain in my foot wouldn't cease, and strangely enough my hips started stiffening so much that simply walking was agonising.

I was diagnosed with femoro acetabular hip impingement syndrome (FAI). My hip didn't quite fit into my hip socket, so it was tearing down cartilage and tissues. No amount of physiotherapy could fix this, I needed a surgery of my right hip, to file down the cartilage and sew the tear in the tissues.
Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 13.23.26.png

After 6 weeks on crutches and a 6 months recovery period I was ready for third year and prepared to finish my Bachelor's degree in musical theatre! Or so I thought... The damage had been made on both sides, and I needed to have an operation on my left hip as well. With a heavy heart I had to defer yet again and fly to Bergen, Norway, where I had my second hip operation. I was then 24.

Dancing was my passion. There was nothing else I'd rather do. But I understood from the doctors that I had to embrace the possibility of never being able to dance again. The thought still makes me well up. Nothing up to this day has ever broken my heart in this way.

At this time I had done a fair amount of yoga, as it was the only form of movement/workout I was able to do (at least for a while). I decided to reward myself by becoming a yoga instructor, figuring it was a great way to make money next to my acting career and at the same time stay fit. Little did I know how much it would change the course of my life. Not only did it help me recover from the operations physically, but it changed the way I view life and interact with people. Despite the doctors' warnings, I have now been dancing for 10 months without pain and I have more control of my body than I ever had. :)
Camel, beach copy.jpg
I no longer want to pursue a career in acting, at least not for the time being. I want to help people with their bodies, their mind and spread love in a world were bad things get way too much focus and attention. Currently I teach yoga in Norway and next year I want to become a physiotherapist. I still sing and perform but as a side business next to teaching.

This summer I managed to finally finish my Bachelor's degree after 5 years instead of 3. But I did it. Giving up was never an option and I'm proud that I managed to fight my way through it, even though my dreams are no longer the same.
Screen Shot 2017-08-31 at 11.06.18.png

If you want to read more about what I do you can find me on @yogawithtone on instagram and I'm also on Facebook and Twitter (Yoga with Tone).

Can't wait to start meeting people on here! The thought of a page with only positive content and no advertisement is just fantastic! Spread the love and keep smiling. 💜

Love,
Tone

Sort:  

Velkommen til Steemit Tone/ @yogawithtone!

Tusen takk @janusface ! Så kjekt å møte så mange nordmenn! :)

I like måte!

Welcome :D

Thank you very much :D

Velkommen til steemit ja! Ja det er en del å sitte seg inn i her i begynnelsen. Må gjerne sjekke ut #TeamNorway

https://steemit.com/norway/@kiimo/teamnorway-31-08-2017


@kiimo

Takk! Det skal jeg gjøre!
Nydelig bilde. :)

Velkommen til Steemit Tone :) :)

Tusen takk skal du ha @vannfrik! :)

Velkommen til Steemit, nabo(?) hyggelig å se flere vestlendinger her inne, begynner å bli endel av oss nå :) keep steemin' on!

Heisann nabo! Så kjekt at det er flere av oss! Hvor i området holder du til? Bor selv på Ålgård, inngangen til Sirdal 😎

litlasirdal? :p jeg bor på flatjæren (bryne ca). her er noen andre norske folk du kan sjekke ut. @marehalm @joklahoma @nippel66 @kiimo @mariustraasavik @shockwave @ramta @barbro @babsboard @susanne @camilla. noen avdisse er fra jæren, andre fra stavanger og ellers bergen og andresteder i landet. bare å spør om det er noe du lurer på, så skal jeg svare så godt jeg kan :)

Åååh! Tusen takk skal du ha! Er det Litlasirdal vi blir kalt ? :P Helt ærlig så er jeg ganske forvirret av disse kommentarene som nevner upvotes, tips og liknende. Kanskje jeg trenger et lite kræsj-kurs! :P Men Bryne er ikke så langt unna! Jeg skal kanskje holde noen yogatimer på Elixia der. :)

kult :)
mitt tips ang. de som sier "I upvoted you, now you upvote me" og lignende, bare ignorer dem. slik holdning vil vi ikke ha her inne, men er ikke så mye vi kan gjøre med det utenom å ignorere dem

Åh! Tusen takk! Var det jeg fikk inntrykk av fra han som introduserte meg på denne siden. Så upvote er den lille pila opp ved siden av dollar-tegnet, ikke sant?

jepp, det stemmer og resteem er pila som går i ring rett til venstre for "reply" knappen :) hvis du finner noe du ønsker å resteem'e :)

Takk! Beklager om jeg kommer med dumme spørsmål. Så her er det bare å kikke seg rundt å kommentere og upvote det man liker? Eller er det noe mer som jeg burde få med meg? Nogen snakket om tips?

Welcome to Steem @yogawithtone I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much! I still need a bit of time to figure this out, but I really appreciate it! :)

Interesting! Nice! I upvoted you!
PD: join me in this world of steemit looking my posts, rare content about this world, maybe you like it, maybe not, anyways, We can grow up together follow me and I follow you! :D

Hello and thank you! :) I'd love to learn more about what you're posting, so that I'll do! :)

Both beautiful and inspirational, welcome Tone :)

Thank you so much! Looks like you're new too! Looking forward to reading your introduction. :)

My fiancee has also suffered from FAI. Now she's very cautious when it comes to working out and it's sad because I'm kind of a fitness geek. I will share your story with her, it is very inspiring!

I'm so sorry to hear that! If she needs someone to talk to, feel free to drop me a message on whatever social media you prefer. I'm a fitness geek too. Just let her know that it doesn't mean it's the end! I'm currently working as an instructor in yoga and TRX at the moment. I'd love to help if she needs tips in exercises! 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33