INTRODUCTION : My first month on steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

We're here to stay !

I did not come around making an introduction post yet, as these take up quite some time to make if wanted done right and first wanted to check this place out.
At first this place sounded too good to be true. People will easily throw out words like "scam" or "pyramid scheme' to sites like Steemit, weirdly I haven't heard a single person calling this place "too good to be true".

Who am I?

15825edf2fdb397774e45c8798b7aaa9.jpg
Source

That's right, I am a Loudspeaker. Easy to listen to and speaking what my mind tells it to output. Not always the most pleasant listening experience, but with the right music, we can be a good match.

A speaker named Manuel, born in Belgium, but with dual nationality Belgian/Spanish. Studying chemistry and tinkering with computers are my daily occupation but when it's time to relax I shelter myself in the cozy world of high end audio.
My journey of audiophile endeavours are posted here on Steemit, next to memes and gaming highlights.

A whole month of Steemit in 2 minutes

I had NO experience with cryptocurrencies before I joined. Like nothing at all. Heck, I looked up what a blockchain was awaiting the approval of my account which took 2 full days. I had so much energy and motivation to start on here that I went ahead and joined some discord groups where I asked around how things worked here, happy to see most of you guys are really nice and helpful.

So in these 31 days I have gained 156 followers, made 570 comments/posts (including this one) and got my reputation up to level 43. One thing I can recommend to every beginning Steemian is to comment, comment and COMMENT. It is by far the best way for people to get to know you, invite you to discord groups and earn your first Steem and SBD. Those first payouts, small as they are are really satisfying to see come in and motivates you to keep going.

I won a Setup Wars contest held by @techmojo and joined his discord to check out his latest tech realted posts which are always a pleasant read.

Also joined the discord group of @khaleelkazi, when he first announced his curating incentive which I found very interesting and feel like it's something what Steemit needs, a better peer based filter on the quality of the content.
Together with @danielwong @mineopoly @bryangav and @samiwhyte, I became a curator for the Kazicollective and it feels great to do something significant for this platform and to read through posts with curating in mind, not just to get the author to notice me for an upvote.

So a last tip from a beginning Steemian is to go out and find your place in the community, if you find a project you like or are interested in, don't follow it from the bench but participate. Most of the time people will be glad to hear from you and your thoughts or possible contributions on the project. You have nothing to lose!

Finale

I hope you found it nice to meet me, albeit in a musical disguise. If not, don't worry! Steemit is growing every day, with just hitting 600K users yesterday, so chances are we'll never meet again.

On that note, have a nice day everyone, and keep on Steeming !

Sort:  

Keep up the awesome posts dude. always a good read. ;-)

You are included in the 10 of the best Game & Tech blogs to watch in 2018 post by @TechMojo. Well done on all the hard work you do and the content we see. Thank You!.

Great post. Welcome aboard and hello from the United States.

Thanx !

Hello from the land of Oz!

Thanks for always supporting the community and posting great content @xyzposter! Keep up the good work my friend! Steemit is growing like crazy and we are here early!

Thanks man, early birds get the worms first!

Congratulations for being selected from #TKC Curation Team! :)

Thanks man!

You are really doing great man, i am proud to be your fellow curator.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60938.63
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67