Sort:  

Haha, Starcraft was my first love. Well, I suppose my second love after baseball, but I was obsessed for years. I could talk for hours about my Starcraft story, but I'll tell you my most memorable Starcraft experience.

I made WCG USA finals back in 2003 and was eliminated by Day[9], otherwise known as Sean Plott. At the time he wasn't that well known, but within a couple years was the best player in the country and now is an international hero. We became friends and stayed in touch, mostly talking about poker. Sean was actually a pretty good player but decided gaming was his passion and pursued his Day[9] dailies and other interests instead.

Anyway, back in 2008 I was in California for a poker tournament. Sean was going to college at Harvey Mudd University, and a mutual buddy of ours and I went out to visit him. We were hanging out in his dorm and all of a sudden he goes "hey, there's an on game star league final tonight, I'm going to take over an auditorium on campus and do commentary, want to come?" Of course we both said yes. This is before he ever recorded a daily or did any commentary or his brother moved to Korea to do commentary.

HMC is a little university full of brilliant but eccentric people. Sean takes us to this auditorium, sets up his laptop on the projector feed and starts telling our buddy and I about the players in the finals. Gradually the auditorium starts to fill up. There must have been 20-30 people in that room listening to Sean commentate games. I'm pretty sure none of them played Starcraft competitively, Sean is just so incredibly captivating that he had everyone in the room excited and on the edge of their seat for the entire finals.

I haven't talked to Sean in years, he's busy doing all of his stuff, but every time I watch a daily and see how enthusiastic and engaging he is, I think back to that auditorium when he just did it for fun and realized what a brilliant, special person he is.

I don't remember off hand, but I want to see the finals was Jaedong vs Bisu and Bisu won 3-0??? It's been 8 years, I can't remember exactly, but I do remember a new protoss early expansion strategy taking off after that, mostly with a corsair followup. What a revolutionary strategy

This was definitely 07-08 but I can't remember who played. A protoss won 3-0 using an early expand to corsair strategy. One of the maps was lost temple, could probably remember the others if I saw layouts. I'll revisit this question on Monday when I have a computer to dig deeper

I found it: Bisu beat Savior 3:0 in the MSL finals on 3/3/2007.

Bisu vs Savior 2007 MSL finals
Game 1:


Game 2:

Game 3:

En Taro Adun, Tassadar

@wroman Hahaha!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76