Introduce Yourself: Mandy M., Creative Writing Coach

Hi! My name is Mandy. I edit novels and non-fiction manuscripts for clients all over the world in my freelance editing business, Polished Pear Creative Editing. I am passionate about teaching clients how to craft deeply compelling narratives and characters regardless of genre.

mandy2-brightened.jpg

I am a fan of books with strong voices and POVs. I am currently obsessed with The Woman Who Smashed Codes by Jason Fagone (Biography). Other books I recommend: Love Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton (Memoir), Disappearance of the Universe by Gary Renard (Non-Fiction/Spirituality), A Natural History of the Senses by Diane Ackerman (Non-fiction/Nature), The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (Fiction), The Collected Stories by Amy Hempel (Fiction), and any poetry collection by Kim Addonizio.

When writing and editing overload my brain, I paint abstracts. With my mind on low, I let my intuition guide the process. The canvas is never what I imagine it will be when I start (likely due to inexperience - ha), but I enjoy the unraveling of a piece, how it changes and transforms into something I didn’t intend. This looseness of creating is where I find surrender.

Other areas of intrigue: astrology (Cancer sun/Libra moon here), spirituality (connecting with God/Source), meditation, travel, psychology, exercise, music (Julian Baker, Arcade Fire, Beach House), exploring artists on Instagram, chatting with my family, dancing with my husband, photographing my cat doing unremarkable things (“Oh, you’re cuddled up like a snail?” Snaps photo, posts to Instagram “Oh, you’re yawning again?” Snap, post within the same hour)

()!![P1011215.JPG]

IMG_7626.JPG

p.s. not a robot.

Sort:  

Nice to meet you @writeoutloud🙃
Welcome to Steemit!

I need an editor, but my articles are slightly technical in that they're mostly about Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies, balanced for both experts to laymen in a creative way. You may not be familiar at all, but this is the future you'e got to learn anyways ;) I would be happy to pay you in any variant of Steem dollars or another crypto currency.

I wish to expand upon the fluidity, imagery, and comprehension in my article mainly.

Hi, zastels! Pleasure to meet you. I’d love expand my knowledge base on crypto by editing your articles. What is the typical word count for each? What outlets do you typically post/publish in? Steem dollars would be great, as I am just getting into this! Excited to discuss more with you.

I am interested in posting to Steemit, and compiling an index inside a blog of my own I'll make. Word count would be under 5000 typically. Would you give me a price for say 3 separate proof readings, as I'll take your advice and readjust and send it back. Should we need to go beyond that we will renegotiate. Feel free to email me these details [email protected] Once you reach out to me I'll provide the google doc link. Nice to meet you too!

Hi, zastels! Thanks for the reply. I’ll send you an email with a quote this afternoon when I return from volunteering. I’ll be in touch very soon!

WELCOME TO THE PLATFORM !~
im glad to find another freelance writer - you should check out the #getpublished tag ; i try to post once a week although sometimes im slacking .
I get emails all the time, so i just take them from my email and post them on my blog hopefully it helps someone get published .

Im also looking to form a team and collaborate with them to help bring others to the platform ; if you would like to help then you should check out my facebook page on the top of my blog .

Maybe you can join me and help bring the tag i have made some more attention, as i have currently been doing a terrible job LOL !

Thanks so much! I’ll use your tag #getpublished in my next post for sure!

i love the use of the name too by the way " Write out loud " - very inspiring just to speak of .

thank you! I appreciate that :)

Congratulations @writeoutloud! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm not a robot either. Love the cat. Love abstract art, too. Welcome.

Hi, joeyarnoldvn! Happy to meet you! Thanks for the warm welcome.

No robot here either :D Welcome to Steemit! I'll be following along as I would love to develop my writing to be more developed. I feel very inadequate in that regard, but I'm working on it! I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube as well. It's the video platform based on the Steem Blockchain. Kind regards.

Great! Thanks for the tip, captainbob. Do you post on here? I will be sharing articles about how to create more depth and vividness in your writing. So, follow along! If you have any specific questions, fire away.

I mainly do video and photos, but I aspire to be a better writer. I will definitely be following along in an effort to improve. I hopeful that with more practice and by learning a bit more, I can improve over time :)

Great! I just posted my first post about the importance of revising your writing. Best of luck in all your creative endeavors, Captainbob!

Welcome to Steemit! I love editors :)

I'm finishing a doctoral degree and wouldn't have survived without good editors. I have no doubt that my editor helped my papers go up a whole letter grade. Thankfully I'm in the last stage. I submitted the first two chapters of my dissertation and am working on the third chapter. Aim to be done by June. Can't wait.

BTW, let me know if you have any questions about Steemit. Glad to help. Been on for a few months, but only taking it seriously the last few weeks. Cheers.

Thanks for the welcome, leaderinsights! What are you getting your doctorate in? Exciting that you are nearing the finish line! I hope you enjoy the next few months of the process! I will check out your posts. Cheers!

Sounds good. Thanks.

I'm doing a Doctor of Ministry degree from Fuller Theological Seminary. In this program, you submit two chapters at a time. It then goes to a content editor and then a style editor. Funny enough, I just got an email where I got flagged for "plagiarising." The editor said I had taken content from my personal blog and that I needed to cite it. I didn't realize I had to cite my own blog. They said it's not a big deal but to cite it and then send back :)

Wow! Two chapters at a time sounds like a good pace. Funny that you are having to cite your own blog! But cool that you can recycle some material for your dissertation ;) I hope working with your two editors has been a pleasant experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78