Hello Steemit! Introducing myself. College graduate, self employed, one man startup, software developer, Christian, artist, amateur investor, driver, 30 something, aspiring economist...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


Hello I'm wrightlabs from California.

How I Got Here...

A few months ago I decided to buy 1 bitcoin to hold long term for diversification purposes. I bought this bitcoin for about $458. Then within a month, bitcoin went up to ~$750 per bitcoin. I thought, "Wow, I need to look into this" (now 1 bitcoin sells for ~$650). Then I started searching, learning more about cryptocurrency. I found this extremely useful cryptocurrency market cap site and followed it. Then one week ago, out of nowhere steem showed up as the #3 cryptocurrency market cap. I quickly put up my first post on diversification because the topic has been on my mind for a while and I could easily write off the top of my head.

A few days later, I bought about $134 worth of steem and powered up immediately, in order to diversify among cryptocurrencies. The $134 transaction took a while and I started to get worried, thus my second post, an SOS (save our steem).

About Me

I'm a little reluctant to share a lot about myself online. This #introduceyourself post is mainly to show I'm a real person. I'm currently a college graduate, self employed, one man startup, software developer, Christian, artist, amateur investor, driver, 30 something, aspiring economist... the list could go on I suppose (but I'll spare you). I could potentially write about any of these topics and more in the future. But one of my next posts might be on (this is almost embarrassing because I've never been into this like I am now)... SHOES! Yes, shoes, men's shoes.

If you have any questions about me, feel free to ask in the comments.

I'm also here.

Steem Is A Cutting Edge Experiment And Potentially Revolutionary

I'm new to cryptocurrencies and steem but I'm quickly finding this is a good fit for me. Steem and cryptocurrencies sit at the intersection of programming, economics, investing, web technology, cutting edge technology, even government, law and more. All of these are things that I'm into. This space is definitely heading somewhere as far as "the next big thing" goes. It's so interesting because it's so new and unpredictable and how it will all take form is still up in the air. We are definitely living in the pioneering and "wild wild west" era of cryptocurrency/blockchain technology.

Thank You To The Steem Developers

Steem certainly is a project representing a big step forward in the cryptocurrency/blockchain space. I have yet to find info on it's developers but I have a hunch @ned, @dan, @dantheman (and probably others) have something to do with it. Whoever the developers are, I think they are very smart and I congratulate you for creating something so cutting edge.

That's About It

I look forward to learning more about blockchain technology and cryptocurrency. I see steemit.com as a great outlet for my thoughts about a lot of things. I plan to try to share my thoughts, post and hopefully add value to this community and experiment.

Sort:  

Welcome aboard and I wish you a fantastic time with us all on Steemit.com Namaste :)

Welcome John! Nice to meet you!

Hello sanbir, it's nice to meet you too. You have some very interesting pictures in your introductory post. Many interesting places too.

Thank you! Glad to hear that!

To clarify a bit for those that are new to STEEM I will add this detail.
When STEEM pays out 1 $ worth of rewards (whether from posting, commenting or upvoting) it simply creates the new units "out of thin air". This has the effect of diluting everyone's STEEM holdings since the supply has increased but your personal wallet's balance has not.
The way to protect yourself from this dilution is to Power Up.
What does this do you might be axkin '?
Well, for every 1 $ worth of STEEM created to pay for content & curation there are 9 $ worth of STEEM created to send to those that have powered up.

So you should only hold STEEM if you are planning on selling it, or sending it to someone. Do not hold it for a long time since it is being diluted little by little by everyday's payouts.
Power it up and you will lock in your value.

Hope this helps complement the main post!

hi jhon, welcome to steemit :)

Hello, moh-rokib, thank you!

Cool post! Welcome aboard! :)

Say though, do you like riddles? Because I've got a toughie! Let's say there was a group of people traveling around the region today, led by a charismatic speaker who claims the world is ending soon, but that he alone can save you if you sell your belongings, devote your life to him and cut off family members who try to stop you? He would also like you to leave your home and job if necessary to follow him.

What type of group is that? Do we have a modern term for it?

I thought I was rough.

nice to meet you @wrightlabs and welcome! 8]

Hello! you have to be very interesting story about yourself! I think you will achieve great results immediately ! , @wrightlabs

Hello maximkichev, thank you! I hope we both have great results here. I looked at a few of your posts and I've followed you. Looking forward to commenting on one of your posts soon.

Oh sure ! I offer to share with you facebook contacts , @wrightlabs

Thanks for the offer, but I don't use facebook socially.

Your article gains a great success ! I congratulate you with this ! , @wrightlabs

Yes, wow, I'm very surprised and grateful for it! thanks

Nice work! Looking forward to hearing about those shoes.

welcome, have fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45