Introducing myself - Excited to Learn!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers

Wonderful to be joining this innovative social platform and cryptocurrency 'Steem'. I have recently been looking into cryptocurrencies only in the last few months and from the limited understanding and little information I have rifled through, I am a strong believer that the blockchain technology is going to cause a paradigm shift across our world. Actually, it's working as we speak! Article is here: https://www.cryptocoinsnews.com/indias-million-meals-program-taps-blockchain-tech-end-child-hunger/

It's great to see this technology spread widely across the world planting its roots in the most deprived areas of the world and coming up with real solutions for those who are struggling the most.

I have also begun to invest portions of my earnings towards cryptocurrencies, taking on the buy and hold strategy as I find trading too risky.

Brief background

I am a British-born South Korean who was brought up in a conservative town hidden away amongst the sticks and hills of England. In doing so I feel like a British boy in a Korean boys body. I am grateful that I have a neutral English accent as I have a difficulty in processing Asians with Scottish, Irish or Welsh accents (they most likely think the same about me)

Recent history

I have finished a degree in Forensic Science and Psychology and hope to continue with my studies for the next few years. Whilst currently working as a mental health worker for adults I have found that my perception of disability has changed significantly, allowing me to eradicate my previously blind prejudicial preconceptions towards disability.

Currently, we live in a world which perceives disability through the medical model whereby disability is seen as a tragedy. In fact, throughout my voluntary and paid experiences, I found that it is the relationship between the person and environment which is disabled and not the individuals themselves. Whilst the supports and resources for these individuals is generally well placed, especially here in the UK, the stigma attached 'disability' is pervasive and further detrimental to the mental stability, lifestyle, vocational prospects of individuals who already have a diagnosis.

With this in mind, I believe my life mission is to remove the stigma surrounding disability, both mental and physicak in any and every way possible.

I am excited to enter the world in cryptocurrency in more depth, however my interests lie just about everywhere. If you know of or have any profiles which focus on science and innovation, hiking/trekking, philosophy and psychology please comment below!

Thank you for reading

Namaste

Sort:  

Welcome, its always good to be excited to learn. Dive in and absorb all you can about this great platform.

Yes! I shall and already have, so much innovation and revolutionary ideas coming it at every angle. Thanks for reading

Welcome to steemit land @wrackognize

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you have a good time here :D

I'm sure Steemit will look after me well, thank you

Welcome to Steemit, @wreckognize

Much appreciated @twinner!

Good to have you here!

thank you @ someonewhoisme

Welcome to Steemit. Love the name 😆

Much appreciated @gregm

Welcome! glad you liked it here and i look forward to see more of your posts!

Really enjoying your blog, followed back

Welcome to steemit!! @wreckognize :) good luck and happy steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52