Steeming in from Glathsheim

in #introduceyourself6 years ago


Intro

Greetings! My name is Jonathan, though, for as long as I have been online, I have tended to go by Wotan (@wotantx).  Wotan is the German form of the Norse God Odin.  The inspiration is drawn from Richard Wagner's tetralogy, Der Ring des Nibelungen.  

I'm a 40-something native Texan, currently living in the west-Houston suburb of Katy.  I've lived in Houston for pretty much all of my adult life, especially including my time as a student at the University of Houston. I have two daughters, one teenager (shudder) and one almost there (shudder again).


The "Vitals"

I guess I will start out by going through the info in my Bio, which is lifted from my Twitter account:

  • Houstonian: Well, I think I've covered that one.  Houston is my adopted home town, though I am originally from Duncanville.
  • #GoCoogs: Again, I am an alumnus of the University of Houston.
  • #Texans: I am a fan of the Houston Texans.
  • Geek: Although my degree is in geophysics, my profession is IT.  These are skills I picked up goofing off in my spare time at school.  In particular, I am a UNIX geek, though I am also a geek about a great many things not related to computers.
  • Objectivist: The philosophy I (attempt) to follow is Ayn Rand's Objectivism. However, I do not agree with every conclusion she reached. Reason has lead me to diverge from her thoughts in some areas.
  • Classical Liberal/Libertarian: The practical application of Objectivism leads me to favoring minarchist political systems.  In brief, I consider Classical Liberalism to be a subset of the more modern Libertarianism. Either of these would describe me, but I am increasingly applying the classical liberal tag to myself rather than libertarian.  I should probably go more into this at a later time.
  • #Ameripolitan: I included this as more of an advertisement of sorts.  Ameripolitan music is an attempt to rebrand several of the genres that make up outlaw or alternative country music. The goal is to leave the heavily compromised name of "country music" behind.
  • Mental illness blogger: In 2015, I was diagnosed with Bipolar II Disorder. Since then, as part of my therapy, I have been blogging about my experiences.
  • #NeverTrump/#NeverHillary: Leftovers from 2016, but, sadly, I still need to maintain those.

Of course, there's a lot more I could put, but why do it all right off the bat?

So, What Am I Doing Here?

To be quite honest, I'm not sure.  Right now, I'm testing out the platform to see if I can increase my reach.  Therefore, there will probably be a fair amount of cross-posting between my primary blog and here.  If I find more success here, I would consider switching my primary to here, but so far I don't see a way of hosting a domain here.  If such a method exists, I would appreciate being pointed in the right direction.

Beyond that, I will probably make some content here that I don't provide on my main blog.  What form that takes, I couldn't say yet.  I have some ideas, but nothing concrete.

I do hope that you have found this post interesting, and will consider reading me in the future.

Sort:  

Congratulations @wotantx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit Jonathan! :)

Congratulations @wotantx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Jonathan, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and Texas is big and cool. My brother lived there. I'm from Oregon. I use Ubuntu. I am geek, too. I play basketball. I do web design. I like objectivity over subjectivity. I like classical liberalism, smaller government. I love capitalism but not crony capitalism. I like country music. My mom might have had bipolar. I've experienced sadness. Someday, I may want to live in Texas. I was in Vietnam for 5 years teaching English but I am now near Seattle.

Hi Joey! I'm in Oregon too! I'm in Cornelius, out in the sticks...

I grew up in Forest Grove next to family town Cornelius. I used to go to Hanks and Whiz Bang Videos. I played basketball at Cornelius Elementary. I am near Seattle now with my mom. I grew up in Rose Grove Mobile Home Park Community, the ghetto.

Thanks! Texas is very big and you can find a little bit of almost everything, from natural features to cultures. Houston itself has a very large Vietnamese minority.

Yes, some Vietnamese are in Texas. That is what they told me. And some are in San Francisco. I saw one in Oregon once. And I also saw that there a Vietnamese store in Forest Grove, Oregon.

Houston took in a lot of refugees from South Vietnam. The population is significant enough that there is a "Little Vietnam" area of the city, where the community took up funds to put up street signs in Vietnamese, in addition to the English versions.

I would have to go to Vietnamese Town in Houston someday. It does seem interesting. I liked the Chinatowns I have been to in life as well.

Hey man, welcome to Steemit!!!

Hi Jonathan, the Germanic Norse God! This is a great intro post, and we're super excited to see what else you blog about. Love that you have blogging experience on mental health already...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-feb-7th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

NEW ON STEEMIT @niteshbaniya
I WILL HELP YOU TO MAKE follower @reecha
Hello and welcome to the community. I followed you @niteshbaniya and would appreciate a follow back. I'm looking forward to see more posts! Have a great day and have fun. Welcome! @REECHA

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @niteshbaniya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26