Greetings! I am The World Underground. It's a long story, but let me tell it to you...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Howdy Folks!

My name is John Yingling. I'm a 33 year old American who has spent the last decade documenting the weirder and louder side of underground artists across the world. My focus is on documentary films, photography, sound, and archiving everything I can find. I write, capture moments, and live to tell stories.

I started doing this in Chicago in 2007, and just couldn't stop myself. I then began a project called THE WORLD UNDERGROUND that brought me to China, and well, the rest was history. I made my first feature length film about China's rock and roll scenes, and kept going across Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, and more. I currently live in the Northeast of China, and am finishing a new degree while editing my new works.

It's a long story, but why don't I just tell it to you.

I've signed up through Steemit for a number of reasons. I don't like our current options, and I think we can do better. That, and I want to share these stories with as many people as possible.

So, let's do it. I'll begin with a backlog of my history in Asia, the people, food, and things that happened along the way. I'll keep going as I trek through the surrounding area in Asia, and let you know everything I know.

If you'd like to view what I've done so far, the films, photos, sounds, and stories, you can do that at my website below.

All photos, content, writing, is my own, unless otherwise specified (rare). The below design for my project is by the amazing Tony Cheung from Guangzhou, China! He rules.

Anyways...

All the best to you.

John Yingling
http://www.theworldunderground.com

080.jpg

yingling steemit.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @worldunderground I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Heeey I love it! Upvoted and resteemed bro!

Welcome to steemit world!!!
I will vote to you^^

I'll do my best to tell stories for the long haul. I really do think this platform is worth it, and it's a great idea. It's up to us to make it good!!

Good work, thanks for sharing!

Look who's here ^^ @Worldunderground, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thanks for the welcome!

Hey @worldunderground, Welcome to the steemit community. Would love to see what you bring to the community. This link should get you started https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/how-to-get-noticed-if-you-are-a-new-user-on-steemit.

Feel free to ask me any question you have. I would love to help if i can.

Would be super happy if you follow me @kingbach I follow back. We can grow together. Thank you

Thanks, everyone! I do have a few questions, but I've posted them on Reddit instead of here, and will poke around.

Where'd that Slack channel go?! Could have sworn the intro e-mail told me to join, but I couldn't until enrolled!

Interesting work! Love to clown with the underground!

Yes! I've got some seriously fun and interesting rock n' roll stories from China. Let me get the beginning out of the way first.

welcome worldunderground! Im looking forward to read your posts :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45