Introducing the Worldly Sam and Cat

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


After an eight hour trek through the jungle in the Bolaven Plateau, Laos

Hi everyone. Our names are Sam and Catherine. We are 16 years old, brother and sister, and have an immense passion for traveling. Two years ago we ventured out of The United States for the first time on a week long trip to London and Paris and our wanderlust began. Since then we’ve been fortunate enough to go to Italy and Thailand and have just recently returned from a 6 week trip throughout Laos, Thailand, and Cambodia.

We are creating this blog share our travel adventures. Our mom (@fairytalelife) turned us on to this site the day we got back from our most recent excursion. A few days later we’ve already decided to begin logging our stories and memories from our travels.

Sam

I, Sam, have always had a deep interest in photography. Starting from a young age our father would take us on road-trips throughout the US to national parks from coast to coast. One of the main interests for me on these trips was filling up the memory card on my small digital camera from Target (bought with years worth of saved up tooth fairy money). My love for reading and writing has also been a constant in my life, so in seventh grade, when a journalism class was offered I immediately signed up and have now been taking journalism classes for four years. Naturally journalism and photography go hand in hand which has led me to pursue a new passion, photojournalism. Hopefully this blog will help me further develop my journalism and photography skills and allow me, along with my sister, to share our works and stories. Last summer our mom texted us asking if we wanted to go to Thailand in two weeks. Frankly, I thought it was a joke. I couldn’t point to Thailand on a map let alone imagine spending a week there, especially on such short notice. But by some stroke of luck we managed to arrange it and off we went. Ever since then traveling has been my biggest passion.

Cat

I'm Cat. I 've always been intrigued by new ways of life and different cultures. Last year on my first trip to Thailand I was left in awe by the amazing mix of deep-rooted culture and beauty. It was my first time experiencing a non-western culture. Afterwards I realized one week in Thailand was simply not enough. Shortly thereafter Sam and I planned a six-week trip to more of Southeast Asia for this summer. We just returned a few days ago. On this trip we visited Thailand as well as Laos, and Cambodia. When I grow up I want I study communications and anthropology. I’m also interested in linguistics, and I’m currently learning Mandarin. Soon I’ll begin my junior year in high school.


Photo of us at The Uttayan Bajiang Falls in the Bolaven Plateau, Laos


Scaling a rock face in the Bolaven Plateau, Laos


Playing with Khmer children in Kompong Cham, Cambodia at the BSDA Aspara Center

We look forward to sharing our memories!

Sort:  

Awesome photos, upvoted. Keep posting about your adventures!

Thanks so much! We definitely will!

South East Asia is one of the most amazing places in the world. You should definitely check out Vietnam as well, it's a super under rated country to visit in my opinion, but has some amazing sights and incredible culture. Enjoy your travels! And post more!!

Yes! It's definitely on our list, many of our friends from our past trip have gone and highly recommended it. The photos we've seen look incredible!

What worries you the most?

Awesome pics! Hopefully you share some more of your adventures on the platform! Welcome and enjoy! Upvoted and following!

Thank you! Lots of stories on the way!

Very cool pics indeed, keep it up guys.

Thank you! More to come!

Very nice post)

Thank you! :)

must be beautiful out there! Great pictures!

It was incredible, thank you!

Little Indiana Jones!! Awesome!

Laos! Were you with Hmong people? I know there are a few different cultures in the area. We have lots of Hmong people here! Nyob zoo!

as I know, Hmong people live in Vietnam,China only.

Unfortunately we were not, we did however have the opportunity to visit a museum on the many cultures and ethnic groups of Laos and did learn a bit about them!

The faults of a superior person are like the sun and moon. They have their faults, and everyone sees them; they change and everyone looks up to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76