Let the conversation begin!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good Morning Love LIfe!

Hello Steemians!

If nothing else the technology revolution is keeping us on our toes (if you're over 40 you really get this!) Exponential growth is compressing the evolution of the revolution at warp speed! AI, decentralized finance, business models that aim for zero or negative profitability, private space exploration and colonization, treating aging as a disease, fusion energy…this is no longer tomorrow it is today! How do we make it all work for the betterment of mankind and not let it rip us apart at the seems? How do we profit from it to support our families in the short run and how do we tame it over the long run?

Exciting, challenging, scary, thought provoking.....most of all equalizing!

I loved technology from an early age but back then everything seemed tangible. How cool was the $2,000 car-phone my dad put in his taxi but cost too much to use for anything more than a quick call to book a fare! The cell phone business and FCC lottery made many average entrepreneurs millionaires in the space of a few years but that was nothing compared to what followed….

In 1995 I dropped out of college to work, save and figure out what I wanted to do in life...that didn't go quite as planned. I did what many young men had done over the preceding decades of the old economy. I got into the construction trade but this time there was a twist. To put things in perspective,1996, I had a vague idea that the "Information Super Highway" was going to be important to education and for replacing catalogue systems in the library. By 1999, thanks to a customer who was CTO of one of the largest IT companies on the planet, our swimming pool business had morphed into a dot-com startup. I was a millionaire on paper but never in reality!

The internet wasn't a bubble but dot-com companies were....

I studied geology and got interested in marine science. After that I started working on a seafood processing technology.

Today I have a family which I love dearly. I have gone through many highs and lows. Entrepreneurship and innovation are backbones of our society but it takes a toll on the risk takers. This has taught me that more than anything else what I want to see in life is people caring about one another, trying to understand one another, loving one another, and making this place better for the next generation. “Don’t blame yourself-better yourself” has become my motto.

Empowering individuals through technology like Steemit should ultimately be a positive towards this end but it is not a given. We’ll see more change to the world economy from the impact of technology in the next 10 years than we saw from 1976 to the year 2000 when the dot-com bubble burst. Although I consider myself a free market advocate the nature of capitalism itself will be too brutal for the majority of the world as things move at this speed and not a good thing in its present form. Blockchain could be the critical piece of technology that moves free market, free people philosophy beyond traditional capitalism to a more evolved place of transparency and efficiency. Profit has and still is a needed element for advancement but it needs to become a vestige of our past. Direct peer to peer contracts and payment are an essential step in this direction. Hence the importance of blockchain and the great experiment we are taking part in with Steemit!

Hold on tight this will be a wild ride!

Glad to be here!

Sort:  

Goodluck here

Wellcome to family :)

I definitely agree, I personally think that this space will absolutely explode withing the next 2-3 years. Will be cool to see!

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @williamgabriel to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You are welcume here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50