Saying Hello

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

This is actually my second post. (My first is about The Last Jedi (SPOILERS), here.

A friend (@geekorner) told me about steemit a little while ago, and I have been thinking about posting some but have not gotten around to it yet. With the holidays behind me, I think I will now have the time and ability to focus on doing some writing.

First, some basics about me. I am a Christian and I teach English at a Christian school (I am American but I teach overseas). I enjoy playing sports, reading books, and playing games. I also enjoy designing games. I have one print-and-play game on Boardgamegeek, and I hope to put a couple more on this year, and maybe do a kickstarter in the future. I am currently working on the games with some friends, and I am also working on an RPG.

Here is a picture of a card back of one I am working on:

I plan on honing my writing ability here on steemit - I will write some stories and also some poetry. I recently read The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun by Tolkien, and I read his King Arthur last year, and I really enjoy his modern alliterative poetry based on the Old English style, so I want to try to do some of that.

Here is my first attempt (with some editing help from @geekorner):

Earliest Memory
Softly the sky-pearls slide earthward.
I play quietly around grandma's home.
Light slips from lamps indoors,
Yet darkness wraps us deep and cozy.

Thrown upward through the air
The fallen flakes fly again.
Across the yard, under the tree,
Stands my uncle, shovel in hand.

In jest he scoops, and, judging awry,
he forcefully flings a fountain of snow.
The cold curtain crashes around me.
My mittened hands mask my tears.

Rushing rapidly to the rescue,
His strong hands steady me.
The worn walkway we tread
to the old house, ancestor-built.

Smell and sound, sweet to me,
at grandma's door, greet with power.
The warmth washes in waves of gold
Over my little self, less than two winters old.

Also, as I teach English to non-native speakers, I want to try to write stories with a limited vocabulary range. I found a site that has the top 5,000 lemma in a spreadsheet, so I am going to try to make some stories with the top 1,000 lemma.

I am quite open to critique and criticism, so if you have any thoughts about anything I write, please share them.

On top of all of that, my major was Religion, and I could have doubled in Philosophy (but I was too lazy to write a paper), so I enjoy talking about those kinds of topics. I don't know if I will post much about them, but those are areas of interest. If you blog about those kinds of things, let me know so that I can follow and maybe comment.

I have a few more poems in the editing process, and I also plan to make a post detailing the particular alliterative style that I am going for (this will probably be my next post and be done tomorrow).

Have a good one!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @whoshim! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

That is a very promising intro.looking foward to seeing more of your stuffs on this blog.All the best in this 2018. you can also follow me @malorimorow.

Thanks for the reply. I see you are in Seoul. We lived there for four years and just recently moved away. Are you going to be able to see any of the Olympics coming up?

Oh really then your level of proficiency in korean must be really good.sure I would definitely watch the Olympics.

Unfortunately, although I studied Korean from time to time, life made study difficult, and Seoul is such an English-friendly city, that I don't know much Korean. :(

yeah I know that feeling:)

I'm glad to have you over!

And writing stories with a limited vocabulary range is an interesting and worthwhile endeavour. I suffer from the opposite condition, where I normally sprinkle in words that I like, which tend to be quite expensive and expansive, heh.

I like how the poem you posted turned out. Good job :)

Thanks! I am working on making a custom dictionary for OpenOffice so that I don't have to try to remember which 1,000 lemma I am using. I think that there is a real need for interesting, simple-to-read stuff for ESL learners. I know that I can take care of the latter, but hopefully I can write things that are interesting even with a limited vocab range.

Heh. I did the same thing of posting a Last Jedi post and only then an introduction.

:D That is pretty funny.

Welcome @whoshim!
What a tender poem to include in your introduction. You have an empathetic voice. I look forward to reading more of your work here and in the Isle of Write https://discordapp.com/channels/391345107716014091/400051131792883733

Thanks! I am glad that @geekorner introduced me to the Isle of Write, and I hope to be more active on there in the coming weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44