Getting lost in China... and not dying!

  The first 18 years of my life were very quiet and sheltered. I had never traveled to another country and at most had spent 2 weeks away from home. At no stage did I ever think that I would find myself completely lost somewhere in the south of China, all alone, in a city I barely knew the name of or could even pronounce. My name is Wesley and I thought I would introduce myself by sharing my weird and wonderful stories of a quiet South African boy who for some reason decided to go to China and live and teach English there for half a year.

 


After only 2 weeks of being in China and living in dorms with over a hundred other people, I had finally moved to the south of China and was living almost on my own, on my first weekend I decided to visit a girl I barely knew for reasons I’m not really sure about. The English teachers at my school assured me it would be really easy and straight forward. Little did I know that a few hours later I would be completely alone in a weird city, with no English anywhere to be seen, heard or understood…

 I got some instructions from the people at the school I taught at. They gave me a few lines of Chinese characters with the destination I wanted. They put me on a bus and all I had to do was follow some simple instructions. Somehow (probably because of the lack of English everywhere) I got on the wrong subway and ended up in a weird part of the city. I looked around and walked for 3 hours before I saw a sign with a picture of a bus on it. I got to the bus station and showed them the Chinese characters. After 2 hours of waiting in the station I was on a bus to the girl’s city. I arrived at 1:30 AM. To end the story off, I finished this amazing travelling experience by getting my wallet stolen as I arrived… China was a blast!

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Welcome aboard Master Beck. Compliments to your Dad. Ignore wang, he is a bot, although he makes people feel so welcome.

Thanks for the welcome :)

Good to have you . I myself am from hong kong and i know how hard it can be without knowing the native tounge

Very cool, although i was in hong kong too and all the foreigners make it alot easier there

Welcome! Thanks for sharing your travel story. At the time it was probably frightening and terrifying. Now it's a great story. :)

It was pretty crazy but surprisingly not scary. Thanks :)

Cool story! Not everyone would have kept their cool in a situation like that. Looking forward to hearing more stories about you and the girl :-).

Don't worry thats just the tip of the iceberg for my stories

Damn, I hope the girl was worth the trouble!

She really was! And still is! ;P

I'd recommend you make next travel related posts in #travel where they will get the attention they really deserve. #introduceyourself is normally reserved for ... well ... introducing oneself! But it surely helps to be already a known community member in every categories.

Thanks wang :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67066.21
ETH 3093.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75