Go Hard or Go HomesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I have been on the sidelines for a while now. This is my first post. I like this community very much. Very smart and "crypto educated", no pun intended. I will try to add to that. Together we can make the world a better and safer place.

About me: I have been trading cryptocurrencies for years now and forex before that. The issue with exchanges and custody of your money is not new. Forex brokers went bust before Bitcoin was even born. Scams existed as well. History repeating? Trading itself is hard enough and when a broker, exchange or even a bank goes bust.. then.. then it's just too late.

I know what I am doing in crypto but my friends and family keep asking how to "get in on it". Where to send the money, which coins to buy, can you just do this for me? And I hate to expose them to all this madness of scam coins, scam services, hacking and phishing, exchanges and generally no support. Even I cannot help them if something goes wrong. So I tried to map out the safest path possible for them to start and I will also write it here and refer others to this post when they ask.

Go to kraken.com or coinbase.com and buy the coins to HODL. Then send them to a secure, offline wallet for storage. Give it a couple years and feel like a crypto pioneer! :)

Professionally I work with computer security in my day job and long story short there is no safe computers. Because for crypto coin storage and trading you need the network connection (yeah, I know, you can sign transactions offline etc but that is not something for the average user). Now how to receive, store and send coins safely on a most likely compromised computer? Hardware wallets, baby! Hence the title. If you do not press the button, nobody can steal your coins!

Let me introduce you to Ledger Nano S Pizza Day Edition by https://www.ledgerwallet.com/r/9bf1

ledger-nano-s-pizza-day-fold-large.png

This is what I have taught my mother to use and I can sleep at night knowing that she will not mess it up and it will not be my fault. :) :) If you wondering why suddenly the Ledger Wallet is red, it is because of Bitcoin Pizza day 8 years ago. Marking the first real life use of a bitcoin payment. It is 30-40% more expensive than the conventional black wallet without any additional functionality or improvements except the sentiment of this anniversary and being part of bitcoin early adopters, as we all are. Am I strange to want the anniversary edition even though I already have 2 black ones? :) :) The geek in me, heh.

Why Ledger Wallet and not something else? Mainly because it is a legitimate company in France whose wallet solutions have been time proven. Already more than a million Ledger Nano S wallets have been sold. None have been compromised if bought from Ledger directly (as in the links below) and transactions addresses verified on the device itself. Ledger also got $75m funding in January this year. It is not an ICO and they are not releasing a coin.. that is why I trust them. It is just a normal company getting funded and producing hardware devices. Shovels in our crypto gold rush.

ledger_pizza.png
Ledger Nano S (pizza day edition) https://www.ledgerwallet.com/r/9bf1?path=products/ledger-nano-s-pizza-day&tracker=MY_TRACKER

ledger_nano_s.png
Ledger Nano S (normal edition) https://www.ledgerwallet.com/r/9bf1?path=/products/ledger-nano-s&tracker=MY_TRACKER

You are your own bank. Don't keep it all on the exchanges. Stay safe.

Sort:  

You got a 59.30% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

You got a 77.04% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @walletexpert! .

Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 90% @mitsuko profit based on your delegated SP
Delegate 10 SP
Delegate 100 SP
Delegate 200 SP
Delegate 300 SP
Delegate 500 SP
Delegate 1000 SP

or custom delegation SP

You got a 36.02% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @walletexpert!
Send at least 0.01 SBD/STEEM to get upvote , Send 1 SBD/STEEM to get upvote + resteem

Greetings new members
Happy to see you join Steemit, hopefully, you will give the best talent for the platform, if any questions about this platform, please click www.steemithelp.net
Kind regards

I am so happy that you are here, walletexpert! I wish you a very rewarding expereince here on Steemit! It is very nice to meet you!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

WOW. your post is so informative. to think you are quite new in steemit. am gonna follow you cos i think you are good . looking forward to seeing more post from you.

You got a 51.75% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @walletexpert!

Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. If you have any questions just ask, and I will be glad to help if I can. Good luck!

Looks like a great wallet.

You got a 9.28% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @walletexpert!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98