♡ In remembrance of my father ~ I've introduced to my mother this gift......

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

                             ◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆

     From the onset of this Sunday morning I was consumed with joy to make the trip to my mother and siblings' home that I often do on my weekends off work; for, in the last few days beforehand, in the midst of the harrowing landscape of ice that extended my time off, I dedicated my leisure time to accomplish a special task. 

    As you can see from the photograph and title above, my latest excursion into the artistic realm was one of great depth. A man who proudly proclaimed himself my father from the early moments of my childhood is the face of this portrait. Losing him last year was an earthquake of epic proportions that suddenly brought about a paradigm shift to my perception of what is truly valuable. The ripples are felt through every experience which reflects upon your inward nature. Art. Music. Creativity. I know of no other pathways that can bring you so deeply within. 

     So, yes. This was more than just another painting. But as deep as my own personal struggle may be, it was WORTH IT! Because I know how much deeper my mother's struggle inevitibly is. Because I know she yourns for me to not abandon my potential for self expression. So I finally pick up the paintbrush. And I introduce to her a gift that shows her how much I care.

     

    I hope that any person out there who has ever felt the loss of a family member or a dear friend will be encouraged to understand how meaningful the support of others is and he uses his empathy to be there for someone else who needs it. To all of you who have a talent that you put to waste -- make someone's day special, because it is of more worth  than anything you can buy this Christmas. You will feel good because there is purpose in thinking about others.

                             ◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆

     I would like to share another painting I did in the past that I am proud of. It is a wonderful memory seeing my dad's face shine when I won an award for it at an art exhibition.

                                                   Vintage Martini

    I am very happy to have discovered this site and it has given me inspiration to do more paintings. I will be honored to make a commitment so all of you waiting for more posts from me will not be disappointed. Follow me if you are interested!

     


     ☆ Of course,  painting is not my only reason for being here.☆

                                                 ◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇

  • I love music. Especially independent genres (skramz/post-hardcore, post-rock/dream pop/shoegaze, black metal, crust/grind, trip-hop/I.d.m./classic dubstep/future garage, and lots more!)
  • I love animals. I have a stock tank with three turtles I raised from eggs swimming around in it, in my room!  I also have a snowshoe/siamese cat, a Brazilian Rainbow Boa, 2 leopard geckos, and a hedgehog.
  • I have the passion for knowledge and truth. I discovered this site because I have been studying Murray Rothbard (Austrians in general) and people with similar philosophical views, which led me to interest in cryptocurrency (though I have yet to make an investment), localization (Liberland) and other peaceful means to evolve out of our current political paradigm.

                           ◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆

     A picture of me (middle) with my siblings.

                      Thanks for your time. Upvote if  you enjoyed reading. 


Sort:  

Hello @wackywaferjg,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Thanks for the boost!!!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hi there! It's great to have another music lover join steemit :) I have been encouraging my brother-singer/guitarist-to join us here and making an effort to know as many people in the music community as possible. So come and see me if you want a list, haha! The holidays have me pretty busy, but I'll be checking back in later on. Welcome!!

Hey thanks for reading. I will remember your comment and use this place as an outlet for music. I recently had a small venue/music shop open up by me and I've been meeting bands and building relationships within the local music community. I would definitely like to expand my horizon on here, too. Once you convince him to join, let me know so I can follow him!

Sorry, I was actually at my brother's today! I will definitely let you know, and it should be soon :) His wife made me an aunt last week so they're consumed with first time parenthood, haha, but he has some time off from work so he's talking about getting started.

Welcome to Steemit ~ upvoted and followed! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36