Hi steemers! My name is Von Versoza and this is my ‘introduce yourself’ post!

628840E4-20A5-48BE-8458-F6A4F02A3428.jpeg

I know, this should have been my first post but some rules are broken sometimes right? Anyway, to you who are reading this, prepare for a really exciting story of my life!... Or at the very least I do hope you enjoy reading this. Hahaha! Alright, so here it goes...

69604C2E-8786-435B-9853-E424D56C56D4.jpeg

Hi! My name is Von. I am 22 years old and from Laguna, Philippines. I just finished studying and on my way to becoming a seafarer. Just three years ago, I was aboard an internationally trading cargo ship for about a year. At 19 years old, I was able to travel the world and see different kinds of people and their cultures. It was a mind opening experience to me and it expanded my horizons on how I view the world. I met lots of amazing people and walked many streets across countries. It was a really interesting profession to be in the maritime industry and it help me understand more and more the ever changing global landscape where no one is too far anymore because of the technology we have.

3DE8AD21-902D-4C1C-87ED-9489A8844A8D.jpeg

I remember during the earlier years, seafarers used to communicate with their loved ones using written letters or what we commonly refer to as ‘snail mails’ because sending takes at least a month to get and receiving takes another month! Just imagine how painfully difficult it is to talk during those days and before you even get a reply from your message, you might actually forgot what you said already! But now, thank God for the modern day instant messaging and video calls. You can never be too far from you loved ones ever again.

7282AE75-10A0-4A64-BB8A-1CF17091321A.jpeg

Working on a ship made me feel a lot like Sinbad of the Seven Seas. I have crossed the Indian Ocean, Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean...you name it! On my first month there, we were on our way to Brazil. Our ship is located south of Cape Town at the time. It was one of the worst experience I ever had as a seafarer. Sea on that part of the world is quite unfriendly where waves are like mini tsunamis ready to sink ships. Have you ever tried sleeping during an earthquake? I know no one would but imagine doing that for a week straight where your things just fly around like their possessed and sways back and forth. Our ship just keep rocking like a cradle ready to topple over and I thought we were gonna die. Hahaha. Thankfully it never happened again for the rest of my ship days. What a relief!

9781FD39-7773-46D6-9294-21154E9D3D2F.jpeg

Now, I am waiting for my time to sail the world once more. New adventures and new faces to see. It has been two years and the land has been good to me. Sometimes I think I’m better off here on land but you cannot deny your calling. When the sea calls, It is my heart that will answer.

319B70A3-46E9-4E3B-968E-C99F5AAD0C23.jpeg

“It calls my name, like a siren’s song alluring. My heart thirsts for the ocean’s calling. 🌊” -V.Versoza, 2018

Sort:  

Congratulations! You are one of our Weekly featured Authors.

Welcome to Steemit Philippines. Check out @steemph and join us in discord to connect with other Filipinos on Steemit.


Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to steemit world i know youll do great things here.

Thank you for the support!

Welcome to Steemit my friend, the sea is a cruel mistress but a hard woman to ignore.

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you for the generosity! Will do mate!

Welcome kabayan.
Steem On!
Enjoy your stay here:)

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Thank you ka exb! Hehe

Greetings Von,
Those are some really fantastic pictures and I thank you for sharing them. Welcome to Steemit! Hope you enjoy your time there. Kindest Regards.

I’m glad you appreciate it! Thank you!

Welcome to SteemIt! :)

Hi! Thanks!

Welcome to steemit kaibigan..

Salamat ka-exb!

welcome to steemit

Welcome To Steemit! You are really going to like it here. This is a unique place where there is no competition. Instead, we all work to build success by helping each other out. The best way to grow is to build Steem Power and vote to reward other authors.

I encourage you to take the time to search for other posts that interest you and upvote them. Also, start following authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following!

This is a great place to network with other people from all over the world. If you continually post great content you will grow a following in no time and start making some nice author rewards.

Best Of Luck!

Thanks for the tip mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72