Memories are not only stories of the past

I am cherishing those black and white, faded pale pictures as the best gift I could ever receive right now! 

I may call it a virtual happy trip to the past that I am missing as I am growing old! Touching a photo of me when I was 2 years, takes me back to the tranquility of the easy life of toddlers in the 70s. I contemplate that look discovering a camera. That hairdo which I am not having now. The tiny baby body in the dress without caring about the style or the color. 

I am the middle child. of course, these pictures bring to my mind sometimes how tough it was to live that reality! Feeling invisible behind the first sibling; and feeling less cuddled than the last baby in the family. I realise now that this made of me a tough person to face reality and feel lots of gratitude with the least that I can have.

However, looking at this picture makes me feel how happy I was with the simplest activities. Like trying to imitate adults who take care of kids. At that time, we had no standing shower, only tub. So, kids just sat down for baths in the open patio when the weather allows it. I see now being a mom that my parents took this photo proudly seeing me taking a bit of responsibility to clean my younger brother. 

)

My spontaneous face before the camera without carrying about my lost tooth, makes me laugh so bad each time I see it. It is an opportunity for me also to think about my younger brother and send him a text or call. 

The family is a bond of feelings which stems from the instinct and that triggers our memory to keep all infantile images locked in; it never matters the quality of childhood the person spends with the family. There is always a little story behind every picture; especially in the 70s and 80s not everybody could afford a video camera to register actions. Childhood Photos make the brain recall, imagine, relive, travel and analyse but for sure it is better to take only the positive and good side of our imagination to appreciate the present moment and cherish the natural and funny part of it. 

And this is me 41 years later! Still wanting to print pictures like the old good days and wait how I am going to feel looking at them in the next 40 other years for  the times they are a-changin’ as Bob Dylan said:

"….Come writers and critics

Who prophesize with your pen

And keep your eyes wide

The chance won’t come again

And don’t speak too soon

For the wheel’s still in spin

And there’s no tellin’ who that it’s namin’

For the loser now will be later to win

For the times they are a-changin'….''

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. Life is about memories. Looking at your old photos also bring back memories of my childhood which was spent in a village.

Nice! and thanks for reading :)

Welcome to Steem @vitasource365 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome on steemit. Nice to see new members. ... Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @steemtrip

Thanks for the nice welcome! surely, i will follow you :)

What an amazing post. Loved reading it. I was the youngest in my family, and my two brothers were a bit jealous of me so they would rough me up a bit from time to time. lol It is normal. It is part of what made me tough later in my life.

Love the old photos. You were are cute baby and kid. Love the missing tooth photo. lol We all have does. I just wish I was home now to go through my childhood photos an post some here with you. lol

Great post. Well written. Deserved an upvote. Have an amazing day. :)

Thank you for the feedback and have a nice day too :)

You are more than welcome :) @vitasource365

Amazing post @vitasource365. upvoted

Thank you for reading :)

Welcome to steemit from @lopezdacruz. All the best in your steemit journey.

Thank you ! and yes i am looking forward to my journey with steemit :)

source (2).gif

great introduction. I am following you to read more wonderful stories.

Thanks for this nice motivation :)

Congratulations @vitasource365! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice to meet you, @vitasource365! Welcome to Steemit!

Great introduction @vitasource365 , certainly sounds like your youthfully vitality is still going.. welcome. ))

Thanks for the comment! and the welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57