Hi Steemit, it's VirsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago


Interested to see what this community has to offer.  I'm currently finishing off a year long fight with cancer, which has given me a lot more time to spend on the internet recently.  My perspective has changed a lot this year and I'd like to share my experiences.  If you are going through your own cancer treatment journey, feel free to message me.  I'd like to help others however I can.



When I'm not in the hospital I love to be active.  My favorite sports to play are basketball, water polo and racquetball.  I've lived mainly in the US midwest so the opportunities to play water polo can be a bit limited.  Some day I'd love to live somewhere we I can play water polo outdoors year round.  Recently I picked up cycling and disc golf as two more activities.  On top of these hobbies, I try to go on a few backpacking trips every year.  I've included a few pictures of the last camping trips I took before my diagnosis.  I can't wait to get back outdoors!  My main indoor hobby is reading.  I am a big reader of science fiction and fantasy.  I am considering sharing my book reviews on Steemit.


For work, I am a materials engineer in the automotive industry.  I work with organic materials (pretty much everything that isn't metal).  I'm interested in current trends towards automation and self-driving cards.  I think that's enough for an introduction.  Cheers!


Sort:  

Hello @vir,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Hello @vir, welcome to the community.

Welcome to Steemit. Positive attitude is one of the best things in fighting cancer. I have experienced the battle against cancer with my wife who lost her battle at the age of 22. It is a tough road but can be overcome! Look up apricot seeds I believe they are full of B-17 which is a miracle worker at helping the immune system naturally fight cancer cells and tumors. I only just learned of this treatment the last 2 years but it seems to being a good shot.

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Welcome to Steemit @vir :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome! And wishing you all the best as you receive cancer treatments!

Welcome to steemit! Looking forward to seeing more of your posts in the future, upvoted and I followed you. Good luck on here!

Welcome to Steemit from a fellow Midwesterner!
I am sorry to hear about your cancer battle, but you will defeat it. I am an outdoor enthusiast looking to share stories about camping, canoeing, and so forth. I am now following your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66946.15
ETH 3488.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22