What I've Learned From Nearly 3 Years Spent Above the Planet

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My name is Vince Czaplyski. Veteran traveler, lover of life, good food and interesting people and places--that's me.

I divide my time between Paris, France and the United States, and am lucky to live with an incredible woman who is the love of my life.

I'm strongly independent, suspicious of nearly all politicians, believer in the sanctity of the individual and his or her rights to live life with the least amount of unnecessary rules, regulations and interference in one's private life.

Paired with the Golden Rule, that last paragraph sums up my approach to life.

I hope to live long enough to see the end of central bankers, the IRS, the political system as we know it, and ignorance and apathy. I believe that technology paired with good hearted people can ultimately solve some of the big problems we face.

I'm also entrepreneurial, focused and convinced that we all have far more potential than we tend to develop. I really enjoy seeing people succeed in new and surprising ways when they discover how to tap into that potential.

I'll add that I'm optimistic, forward thinking and pretty much every day excited to wake up and get on with the possibilities of the day.

In another age I believe I probably would have been a sea captain or explorer. I like to keep moving.

As an early Bitcoin adopter I think the idea of a social media community built around blockchain technology and quality content provided by real people with something to say is brilliant. I can't wait to see where it goes and how much it will change the landscape of social media as we know it.

I hope all of my fellow early adopters on Steemit will be able to look back on this beginning as the start of something really big. I wish you all well.

And I really have spent nearly 3 years above the planet, just not all at once. I'm a professional airline captain for a major international airline, with somewhat over 30,000 flight hours in a variety of aircraft. I've flown 'all over the world' as people like to say. (Even though no one really has--it's a big world!)

Deducting about 15% of that total logged flight time for time spent taxiing around airports waiting to take off or get to the gate, here's the math:

30,000 x .85 = 25,500 hours

25,500 divided by 24 = 1,062 days, or 2.9 years above the surface of the planet

My travels have allowed me to meet an incredible mix of people from all over the globe, see awesome sights, and generally stay lit up about life. By a rough estimate I've crossed the Atlantic over 700 times.

So yes, travel really suites me.

Finally, I'll add that I'm also a certified life coach. In that role I get to help people design and attain dream lives that they love living.

Thanks for reading this introduction post. I'm looking forward to reading your own posts and watching this community really take off.

Sort:  

Awesome to have more pilots here on Steem!! I'm still very young, you have a ton more hours, maybe after 20 years I'll be closer!!!

You will if that's what you want--go for it!

Nice to meet you, @vinczap! I think you should put your photograph into the post :) Luck!

Congratulations @vinczap! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81