Who / What is a worthy steemit person?

As this is my first (and hopefully not last) post, I've been pondering what or who deems one worthy to be here. Roughly I was turned on to the steemit platform 6 mos. ago roughly with expectations that this was an alternative to like a facebook platform minus the censorship. Game plan being build up some steem power through comments and start writing once my vote/rep was on the board (exposure if you will). I then see (yeah I love to gamble) the contests section....here we go.
To not bore you to death on how and when, I won a few sports type contests. F'n sweet, a few cents for the win and all I had to do was upvote and pick winners. Things went well until (no props for him further known as d-bag .5) says I'm no longer eligible for his (I think) contests due to "a lack of meaningful content - my interpretation" You know, his contest, his rules (never posted that one though), no problem. I enjoyed his contests, played in them until my dismissal, his show.
Now recently a new entertaining clown (no props for him further known as d-bag 1.0) who does not throw contests but sure as hell participates in them questions my worthiness to be in them. As if he's the almighty authority of steemit. His track record of cashing out as all of ours is open on the blockchain. Looking at 1.0's steempower (and even .5's), I notice he's way less than me but is supposed to be my authority? Being perplexed by this, my first post is born. As others see 1.0's tantrum evolve forward, right or wrong (I'm thinking way f'n wrong) he's not the one to regulate me, is he?
Back to my title question, does having dialogue with others without being in a proper post not worth any credibility? If I comment on a post and get an upvote, isn't that validation? I admit, my writing skills are ass, coming up with my magnificent opus ain't going to happen anytime soon. So should I be allowed to interact here as others claim no?
In closing, I feel that one that reinvests in their power and throws votes around is more worthy than one that cashes out frequently leaving little power to spread the wealth, pay it forward, etc. I can't just show some boobs and butt and make a living here (I'm a rough looking dude). Hopefully those that have been here a while can define to me and others what a worthy steemian is. Is there an X # of posts per week or month one should follow? I thought the author had the say so on all that. I guess I could crank some crap out to fill some quota but that gets old real quick. Thanks for reading.

P.S. I'm maybe gonna try one of those upvote bots, so you big bad wolves out there, get ready to blow my nickel down.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @vicspics! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

First of all, welcome to steemit, next I will try to explain this as short as I can, there are no rules, only what feels right to you. So if you like curating and committing then do so. You do not have to write any post, none at all. Although I think your post skills are fine and will grow in time. You do you and fuck everyone else. This is steemit... I will follow you and help with any questions that you may have.

It's just a fellow contest junkie rattled my cage which actually inspired me to pop the blog cherry.....hey for a lot of us, the first time (are we still talking about writing?) is with an ugly one/nut job and that happened to me today....

I have a question do you mind? Joy

Hello. :)

How can I buy steem with a bank card? When I try thru my wallet I get a blank page...even when I try the options.
Also why won't platforms accept prepaid cards?
Why can't I see my $ from curatipns from other posts? I vote everyday at 85%.
Also when I check the market it says red now over 20k. Is that -20k? If not what does the red and blue mean.
One more...the difference between binance and bittrex? Do you know a better one before I start?
I have recruited several people and these are our questions combined.
Thank you so much. Minnows in the deep end now. :). Joy

You can buy steem through blocktrades, You will need to have a wallet set up to do this. You can see your curation rewards by using steemnow.com just enter your user name. Binance is my preference, they both are about the same. Hope I have answered most of your questions.

Yes thank you! I hope you enjoy your weekend! Joy

Juat keep swimming freestyle man — the haters are just mindlessly treading water ‘round here.

Thanks, someone was trying to dunk my head so I'm asking the lifeguards to turn away for a minute...

That’sa way ya do it.

Welcome aboard vicspics!

To Whom It May Concern:

@vicspics has been an active participant in my NFL Football contests. I have enjoyed his participation. He is welcome to join my all my contests of NFL Football, Mystery Movie Quotes and various Silver Gold Giveaways.

To d-bag .5 and d-bag 1.0
  • Screw You ! ! !

Thanks goldkey as one/both may have been in your contests too. I guess for some how much and what form you write is an issue. You read on most people's contests: upvote and pick one. There's no creative writing degree here.

I need to find out who 1.0 is! I bet those assholes don't even know what opus means!

I don't know what opus means? Lol fuck I should've just google it and agreed instead

Yeah thanks for checking this out, but it's not like I ever was one of those "great post" spammers and I like playing in your contests so a ban from you would sting a bit.

I freaking checked 90% of the people playing buddy. Only ever banned like 6. You're good in my books bud!

out of left field today - we almost have identical records as far as majority contests and a few comments. If or when a contest maker/provider wants to call me out, that's on him/her....not some clown in my boat (haha the nickel and under club).

You are comparing your 0 posts with my many articles?! Come on dude, you didn't post once since you joined Steemit 6 months ago. Also you only have only 20 resteems (mostly from one guy). And after all that you are trying to call me names :D

It's ok to participate in sport contests, but when that become main focus of someone it's a issue. We all love to make some money on Steemit because it's fair thing to do comparing to FB, but in my opinion it's our spiritual duty to give to community what we can and just try to use it as cash machine. Not saying that you are classical 25 rep fake account made just for sport contest, but with no post and just few resteems you are close to it.

It's not all about receive, it's also about giving back. Don't tell me that playing sport contests with few one sentence comments is trying your best to give to the community. I had many problems last year and my comment section is pretty similar to yours...most comments on sport contest. To be honest I felt like shit because of that because I wasn't giving back to community. Luckily for me some of my financial problems are gone and I just bought PC, so will start blog soon.

Hope you will take constructive criticism without anger. I'm just trying to make Steemit great community and don't just bunch of people trying to get most from it without effort to give to community.

The best rebuttal ever! hats off!

What I have found is I have no idea how to get more votes, more fans, make more money I just write!

Just so you know vicspics

I have no problem whatsoever that you play in my contest. I'm quite tight on the rules who can enter as you know and contest leechers who have no intention to give anything back are not welcome. As long as there is a healthy part if the winnings used to power up I don't see any issue.

Good luck on your grind,
you are a great example on how these contests are sick value on steemit. I might use you as an example when I ever write a post about it.

Thanks costanza, it's just that a fellow contest player had called me out which inspired me to post. After looking at his history and critcizing my so called lack of meaningful content, I noticed his putting next to nothing back in his steempower. I get the new players that can't/won't put anything back into the steemit platform which is ok...when you are somewhat new here. Seeing some winners cashing out all the time (after being here awhile) with no increase in their vote value is discouraging. A bunch of people entering yours and anyone elses contest with no steem power doesn't exactly raise the pool/jackpot. Hopefully as steemit grows, contest pools will grow and people trying to throw them will all be taken care of.

I'm amazed you amassed all the power from contests and commenting, well done man, those other guys can go to heck!

Thanks phelimint, a large chunk was when the ratios of sbd's to steem were out of whack when a sbd could get several steem. Good luck on the efforts for the 2018 steem silver round.

Welcome vicspics !!!
So glad you started posting and joined steemit ! Can't wait to read more from you.

Hahaha I loved it. I looked through your comments and activity when I was banning people from my contest. It appeared to me that your blog was legit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97