Allow Me To Re-Introduce Myself + Verification Picture

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

So hello everyone. I'm Veronica aged 32 from Albacete, Spain, and I have been living in the UK for the past five years. I moved to the UK looking for a better future, however, I did not realise, that it would be such a challenging, yet rewarding journey.

15fe6170-506f-4620-a1c6-c21bbda2c917.jpg

Growing up in Spain, I was always passionate about the English language. I would read as much English as I could, which became an obsession and I used to practice spelling, by playing scrabble. However, reading Shakespeare always confused me.

I therefore decided to go to Valencia university and study English Language and Literature. Learning English opened the doors to learning about the English culture through books, poetry, history, drama, romanticism, and the origins of words and phrases.

Once I had passed my degree, I moved back to Albacete, and had the opportunity to work as a teacher of English in numerous language centres. Some students shared my passion for languages, some were motivated by better job prospects, and others just wanted to pass the “blooming” exams. My love for literature and the magic of books always had room within my classroom.

I continued teaching, but I ended the year feeling claustrophobic. I felt the classroom wasn't enough for me, and there wasn't many job opportunities in Spain. I wanted more....

I made a big decision. I decided to pack my possessions, and move to the UK, and, become an au pair in London. It's not the best career move, but it was a good start. Along the way, I met a lot of different and interesting people, who, like me, wanted to improve or learn English. I saw an opportunity and thought “perhaps I can help these people”.

Struggling to make friends, I created group on facebook, and met with other au pairs in my area. We all became friends, and we used our experiences and skills to help each other. The language barrier was sometimes frustrating, because we were all at different levels of English, but that only increased our desire to improve. We had to learn more, listen more, and practice more.

My love of books and my teaching experiences, helped me decide what direction I wanted to go. I worked hard as an au pair, and saved some money, then I applied to study an MA in publishing, at Cambridge university. I was accepted and I absolutely love it. I'm learning so much, and I'm really enjoying the course.

Other things I love are traveling and cooking, and I want to share some of those experiences with Steemit. I've got lots of Spanish photographs and recipes, which I hope people here will find interesting.

So finally, you might be asking, why did I join Steemit?

Well, a friend told me about Steemit. I did some research, and decided I wanted to get involved. Steemit is new, innovative and, as a forecast, I would say revolutionary. It will give me the opportunity to learn and practice my skills, including html, and writing, which will most certainly help me in the publishing industry.

Please upvote, follow, and leave a reply.

Gracias.

Sort:  

Hello, @versonika
I want to welcome you to Steemit and I know that you will enjoy your experience here! You seem like a very talented person who will offer really good content to our community!
Have a great day!

Hi and thanks for your post. I am English and lived in Castellon province from 1990 - 2009 , and now live in the USA. Many good memories from that time !
un saludo !

I have never been to Castellon, bad enough as I studied my degree in Valencia ^^u

Welcome to Steemit @versonika, Cambridge is such a lovely place to live. You may like to come and visit the #art tag , there are so many interesting artists, poets and writers on Steemit!

Thanks! :)

Wow, what an amazing and inspiring story which was so well put together. You should be so proud of yourself having attained a place in Cambridge but bringing all the au pairs together like that is truly commendable, good show old girl! ;-) You're a super driven individual. I'm definitely following and encouraging you as you obtain that Masters. Upvoted and Followed, welcome to Steemit Versonika.

Welcome to the community :)

Welcome. Following. Feel free to follow me as well

Welcome to the Steemit community! Glad you decided to give it a try after your friend told you about us! Looking forward to reading your posts! Now following you

Thank you ^^

Nice to have you on board! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65