You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you're new to steem or steemit and you aren't making HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS yet -- let me explain why...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

This is absolutely true! There seems to have been a lot of people expecting to get big rewards on their first post here, but just like on any other website like this, you need a solid amount of followers before you get any real payback (unless you get lucky with a whale vote!).

Sort:  

Whale votes are nice, but they show up once in a while and you can't depend on them. I remember when @timcliff was something like reputation level 54 and I was level 62, and I totally knew he going somewhere.. and sure enough he did. I'm level 65, and I think he's atleast level 71 now...

That's the way it goes. Some people excel at this place and other people just give up early. :)

Totally true! I spent about 6 months on the website posting and posting and posting. I always tried to create content that added value. I also spent tons of time reading other people's posts and contributing to the conversation. For months, all of my friends were actually making fun of me for spending time on "that website" since I was spending pretty much all my time here and making practically no money. I kept trying to explain how it wasn't about the money I was making today, but that I was working on building a following, and if the people in the community and I could make the platform better, that the coins I earned from the site could one day be worth a lot more. None of them believed me, but 6 months later I finally got to the point that my posts would pretty consistently pay more than $10. Now (almost a year later after I started here) making more than a hundred dollars on a post actually happens quite often. New users might join the website and look at my blog and wonder "how is that guy making hundreds of dollars per post". If they look at the posts on their own, they might not see many differences between what they do and what I do, but if they realized how many zero payout posts and engaging comments I made before I got to that point, they would see what it takes :)

Thanks! That's inspiring! I've spent more than a year building a website about yoga and creativity. I had worked hard learning on my own to build my own wordpress, learning through tutorials about the basics digital marketing and social network. I built a 12000 followers fan page in facebook, I manage to get some authors contributing to my site with their articles...a looooot of effort! But I hardly get monetize any of this, actually the opposite, I spent money on domains, plugins, fb ads, etc
I wish I had knew steemit before...!!'

So many of you are an inspiration. I mean, just look at your comment . That took effort and thoughtfulness. I just did my intro post yesterday. I created a few pieces before that to gain my balance and a few since. I made my own little proprietary spreadsheet to stick to so I can comfortably get to a solid position in steem down the road. It took me 5 years to build the website I always wanted. Things worth anything take time. Small bites will still finish a big sandwich. Love the likemindedness in here. Good stuff.

@timcliff this comment should be the official testimonial for newbs like myself, so inspiring.

I AM FIRED UP!

Thanks for sharing your journey.
#GetRichOrDieSteeming

Yeah, they are very unreliable, but they can go a very long way to motivate newcomers here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45