Hi! I am Val, an artist, photographer, and traveler!我也写中文博客!

Hello Steemit Community,
I’m so thrilled to join this big family today! Let this adventure begin, whoo-hoo!
As you might have already noticed from my username, I am an artist. Besides doing art, I have many hobbies, such as reading, working out, and Singing. In this blog, I hope to show you guys my artwork and share what I’ve been learning in life. Sometimes I will write in Chinese as well, because I am bilingual in English and Mandarin Chinese! 我也会写中文哟,中国的朋友让我们成为朋友吧!
Okay, now, let me introduce myself in different sections.

Art:


db3a0b_0b85dd85ff1445feb3b758257bcc644f.jpg
this is my self-portrait :)

I am a Massachusetts based artist who enjoys documenting beautiful things and ideas with art. I am a Christian, and I believe there are a multitude of ways in which one can express their faith. I believe that God is in everything from stars, trees, skyscrapers and historical ruins to the beauty of mankind. My art aims to portray the beauty of God’s creations without needing to mention His name.
Most artists suggest pursuing a “consist style” with your art, but I enjoy all styles and I don’t want to limit myself. I try not to limit my art style by making sure to check out new styles and mediums. I usually find myself switching between abstract, realistic and cartoonish. I am obsessed with painting the sky and space with two primary colors — blue and purple.
As a teenager in urban Beijing, I always found myself looking up at the sky. Even though the sky was polluted and there were only three visible stars, I loved to stargaze and visualize the entire universe around me. I’ve constantly been amazed by the way in which we, as humans, coexist among the billions of stars in the sky. To this day, as an artist, I still find myself recalling those countless episodes of stargazing.
In my blog, I aim to give readers an insight to my work ethic, inspirations the stories behind my paintings.

Travel:


12208325_526220174202284_3925008748815064801_n.jpg
Wadi Rum, Jordan

I LOVE to travel! I am a back-packer, adventurer, and long-term traveler. Normally, I love to stay in a place for a long time and stay with local families. In 2015, I spent 5 months in Jordan in the Middle East. During my time in Jordan, I learned Arabic and Islamic art, visited cultural and natural sits, and made lots of friends. I have to admit that I have already forgotten my Arabic, but the memory of my Jordan journey will forever be engraved on my heart! ( I will definitely write a blog post about Jordan. Be on the look out!)
Besides Jordan, I was in Malaysia for one summer assisting a documentary about social change. Last year, my husband and I went to Costa Rica for a mission trip.
12187672_526222734202028_4105680707220012118_n.jpg
Petra, Jordan
11721934_10200675558609226_1178767863_n.jpg
Malaysia

Lastly, some fun fact about me:


landscape-1476795697-gilmoregirls-1sht-winter-uk.jpg

 I am crazy about Gilmore Girls. I have watched it for countless times, and can remember most of the lines.
 I hate parsley but love cilantro
 The place I want to travel to the most is Israel
 My favorite city I have traveled to is Istanbul, Turkey. It is absolutely breathtaking!
 My favorite food that I have ever encountered when traveling is Maqluba (upside down rice) in the Middle East. I believe it’s a common food in several countries, such as Jordan and Lebanon.
 My favorite sketchbook to use is Bee Paper’s premium!
 My favorite medium for art is oil painting.

Thank you everyone for reading. I hope you have a great day!
Follow me for more art and travel related posts! :)

Sort:  

Thank you! I'm excited!

Hallo. Good luck on steem!

Hello, you are welcome to steemit, I give you upvote to your post and remember to follow me as a friend to help you grow in this social network!

just followed!

Welcome to steemit! Such a beautiful painting!!

Welcome to steemit @valjosephart. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. @OriginalWorks will help you verify original content .
If you want to plant a tree try @treeplanter
Use @tipu to give users a 0.1 SBD tip.
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @valjosephart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68