I am...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

I am a lot of things at once, but nothing at the same time.

I am Hispanic. I was born into Colombia's beautiful culture of salsa music and vibrant colored carnivals. The food in my native country is unlike any other, and everyone who lives there are all united as one. I am also an immigrant. I live in the United States of America, a place where diversity is the driving force of the country, but it seems that there's a large majority of people that refuse that fact. There is nothing more discomforting than leaving your city and sitting in a room where you're the only person of your race. There is nothing more humiliating than having police officials stop you in the middle of the street to show them that you are not illegal.

I am a female. I have been blessed with the reproductive organs for life; there is no life without women. Females are continuously becoming role models to their children, but some men continuously degrade women, whether it's simply by walking down the street and hearing someone whistle in their direction or Donald Trump going on national television to call a highly educated woman "nasty." Corporations continue to deny women in work equal pay, and in many social settings, they are looked as an object. Women are not born for anyone's entertainment, but rather for the sake of humanity.

I am a millennial. Millennials are the first generation to ever be raised in a world completely immersed in technology. The gadgets, the internet, and the different social media outlets have allowed everyone around the world to be interconnected. We are no longer unaware of what issues take place across the globe thus creating a completely open-minded generation of people. I am part of one of the most educated, compassionate, and liberal group of people the world has ever seen, but we still lack the recognition and appreciation we deserve. Millennials are all revolutionists living in a traditionalist world. We lack the acknowledgement of being ethically correct to people who still believe that being overbearing and tyrannical is the only way to feel empowered.

I am empowered by my identity. I have numerous of elements that make me who I am and influences that make me who I am today. Being persecuted for my gender or my ethnicity is not something that I find shame in. Being oppressed for being myself is something I find motivation in. It gives me the drive to do better, to work twice as hard to achieve the greatness that I know I have the potential to reach. I am thankful for the life I have been given and it is my mission to create the best of it by using my voice to speak out on current social issues.

IMG_2664.jpg

Sort:  

welcome on board

Congratulations @valentizabal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50