Where are you from? I am from Germany

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Worms - city of Reformation

This is my home town. Living in Munich since several years I am missing my city of birth sometimes and am therefore enjoy writing about it.

Being the oldest city in the whole of Germany, Worms has played a key role in German history. Worms current incarnation was founded by Charlemagne, and the city's bishopric dates back to the fourth century.

The town is famous for the Diet of Worms, to which Martin Luther was summoned in 1521 to Emperor Charles V. He refused to recant his beliefs, saying the famous words "Here I stand. I can do no other. God help me. Amen." As a result, he was banned to the outer reaches of the empire.

Martin Luther memorial

More about the city and myself in future posts if someone is interested :-).

Have you been here already? Let me know about your home town - please comment below.

Sort:  

I am from #Brazil, born in the first city of Brazil, São Vicente.
São Vicente is located between #PraiaGrande (where I live) and #Santos.
State of Sao Paulo.

One day I wish to meet some German cities. Before this dream was more possible and now much harder. Btw, German and Europe has always enchanted me.

You are always invited if you are here my friend - let me know when you are over.

My uncle, a good Lutheran in Missouri, USA, used to quote those same words by Martin Luther, but in different settings. I'm in Oregon's Willamette Valley in the US Pacific Northwest. It's great here. I was in Leipzig once for a conference, but for too short a time. -- Haphazard Homestead, also formerly of TSU.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65