Hey Steemit! I am a simple girl from a small town who lives with diabetes and enjoys life

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hey everybody! ☀

My Steemit friends! I'm glad to join this community!

I would like to be a Myth Buster now and tell you something about my life.

My name is Natasha and I am from a small town near White Sea. I live with diabetes and enjoy my life. I found out about the disease when I was 20 years old and my illness experience is almost 8 years!

Do you know that there is no cure for diabetes, but it can be managed. Many people with diabetes live long and healthful lives. And I think that I'm one of them!

Myth 1 – I can’t eat tasty foods

No, I can! And all diabetics can if their diabetes is well controlled. :)

It’s unreal to tell somebody that he will never be able to eat tasty foods. But there’s no reason people with diabetes can’t eat sweets, as long as they fit into a normal meal plan. The key is how much we eat and how often we eat tasty foods.

If eaten as part of a healthy meal plan, or combined with exercise, sweets and desserts can be eaten by people with diabetes. They are no more "off limits" to people with diabetes than they are to people without diabetes.

Myth 2 – I can’t lead an active lifestyle

No! I can do anything, and be anyone! We diabetes can be snowboarders, divers, mountain climbers... Even the sky isn't the limit!

I've been traveling together for 5 years with my boyfriend. Our travelblog we named "Expanding the Scope". A few days ago we joined to hospitable and open minded Steem community https://steemit.com/@romancs

The most difficult problem for me now is the transportation of insulin and insulin pump accessories. However, all of these are possibilities! All the problems are in your head. Expand your scopes! ;)

You can do anything, as long as your diabetes is well controlled.

Myth 3 – You can catch diabetes from me

No! Diabetes is not contagious. It can't be caught like a cold or flu. You can't get diabetes from kissing or hugging someone. You can't catch diabetes and you can't give it to someone else. There are people who are born with a predisposition to diabetes. But often, people get sick, even though nobody of the relatives suffer this disease. Your weight and lifestyle play an important part here.

Myth 4 – I can't drive car

No! The vast majority of drivers who use insulin can safely operate motor vehicles. So do I.

Myth 5 – I shouldn't get pregnant

No! I manage my diabete well. So I can have a normal pregnancy and give birth to a healthy baby. Sure uncontrolled diabetes can be harmful to both mother and child but if you are a woman with diabetes you can have a safe pregnancy and deliver a baby as healthy as a woman without diabetes.

In the picture I am with my friend's child. I have everything ahead!

Finally

Living well with diabetes takes emotional strength not only from me but from people I love. I would like to say words of thanks for my family, friends and boyfriend. I didn’t know what my diagnosis meant for a long time. I don’t know why this is my life but now I know we all, everyone all over the World, are so happy. And I'm the happiest! ☀

Thanks!

Sort:  

Inspiring story! I really liked it. Thank you for sharing with us, most people don't realize how happy they are.

Thank you!
☝ No man is happy who does not think himself so.

Nice post! Your pictures shatter all of the myths that you mentioned! Post, have fun, learn educate and, as a bonus, earn!

Thank you! In Russia we have a problem of diabetes is becoming more acute today.

Nice pics. Now go tell your friends about steem . I think this post will do well.

Thank you! I heard about this community from my friends, so thank them too!

@uuuhha Excellent post! By the way you should reach out to @casandrarose you two have a lot in common. Upvoting you!

Рады видеть знакомые лица!

Макс, рада тебе! Спасибо! ;)

Приятно видеть таких позитивных людей :)
Пусть у Вас все будет замечательно!

Спасибо большое! Иначе просто быть не может!:)
Thank you! It can not be any other way:)

beautiful pictures, welcome!!! to steemit

Thank you! Here are you can see some pictures from my travels https://steemit.com/@romancs :)

Welcome Natasha! Great post, very nice pics! Stay awesome!

Thank you for your kind words! 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46